Join our family, help with housekeeping and babysitting Eva in Istanbul, Turkey



Favourited 142 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    UPDATE FOR SUMMER 2020: after the long pause due to Covid-19 global health crisis we are ready to host again!
    In order to protect your health, and ours, we will ask you to follow obvious and elementary precautions.
    We NEED to be sure that you are aware that we require you to be careful about 1) wearing protective masks at any time when wondering around the city outside the house; 2) wearing mask AND gloves when shopping; 3) respect Social Distancing. We ask you to do this, and of course we also do it carefully.

    We wish you to be aware also that this summer (2020) we will be probably stay outside of Istanbul for 4-5 weeks (after the long and stressful months of lockdown...) therefore our volunteer will stay at our house, alone, probably housekeeping for the (very very few!) guests that will come. Keep this in mind in case you don’t like to stay alone in new house, in a foreign city. Let me remind Istanbul is one of the SAFEST world cities nowadays.
    I remind you also that we ask you to avoid in ANY circumstances to open our house to any person, guest or friend or family visitori in our absence and without our permit.

    We are an international family, my wife Gulfem is Turkish and I am Italian (Miko). living in istanbul since 20+ years.
    We have a small baby, EVA, a beautiful cat (FAIRUZ), a nice house in the very center with an extra room. You will have your room, plenty of privacy and time.
    We are hosting volunteers since one full year now, with great pleasure for us and our helpers. we had the chance to get wonderful people.
    We have a beautiful independent old Istanbul wooden house on three floors, very much in the city center. A small silent alley, in a safe area.
    We are openminded, educated persons, who like to eat well, drink, have fun, travel, talk, learn things from you... we like to enjoy life, and doing it with other people
    Eva is a wonderful sweet smiling baby that loves music, dance and people; Fairuz is our beautiful and intelligent cat, independent as every other cat, sweet as just a few can be! He also is very social and loves people: the person that comes here will be very loved, that’s for sure!!!

    WE DONT have the facilities (and the need) to host COUPLES.
    We will give preference for volunteer staying minimum one month, preferably 2 months or 3. You will be part of a family, in 2-3 weeks as soon as you get used to our routine, as soon as we get used to your presence, you will be going again!! that's why we prefer you to stay longer
    (anyway NOT BAD!!! ...TWO MONTHS in Istanbul... wonderful city... little work...nice location very central... YOU ARE WELCOME!)

    We run a few flats for tourists (sometimes 3, sometimes 4). So help in housekeeping will be requested and important.
    Eva is two and half years old, she is a wonderful baby. Very social, fun and sweet. She likes to dance and sing, walk around, paint...

    You are expected to help us with the flats (cleaning & check-in, one every few days), help us clean our house (once a week) and spend some time with Eva (more of a pleasure than work!)
    It is really light help, also because we will work together and help each other. When we will not be around (going to short trips or holidays) you will be free and alone. The guests' flats are small, lightly furnished and easy to clean, the check-in is a selfcheck-in routine. The guests have no or very little needs

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying in the very center of one of the most exciting and historically dense city of the world.
    We are cultured and educated people that love to share knowledge and experiences about the city.
    You will definitely learn some Turkish, and some cooking recipe, make it Turkish food, making it Italian
    believe me we have a nice, relaxed, cool lifestyle :) you may enjoy joining it and don't want to leave away then :D
    And Istanbul is...WOW. Come and see yourself: you will be positevely surprised!!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would like you to help us the housekeeping flats, help us in clean our house (once a week) and spend some time with Eva (more of a pleasure than work!)
    it is really light job, also because we will be also around, we will work together. the flats are small, lightly furnished and easy to clean, the check-in are self-check-in and the guests need no or little help.

    The main part of volunteering with us actually is together, going to shop together, cook and eat together, playing with Eva, going out to the park, to the restaurants, have a walk... visit wonderful Istanbul, enjoy its food, landscape

    Why are we actually requiring some help, if it is so easy and light? Mainly because we think it is great to have someone else in the house. The help is accepted of course, what is really appreciated is the presence of somebody, that will play with our baby, share our house, eventually speak with Eva in English (or other languages!)
    It is the sociality of the thing, more than the need for help.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Our house is an old istanbul house. Wooden, on three floors.
    We have room and private bathroom upstairs (3rd). In the middle there is a kitchen and living room (2nd). on the ground floor (1st) there is one room (single, private, for you) one bathroom (almost private for you, we seldom use it), one other room, shared, with TV, we actually use it very rarely. but if some visitor comes...and Eva's books and toys are stored there. Food will be provided

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time (a lot) you can enjoy the city, we are living just in the center, where plenty of bars and cafes, reataurants, cultural centers, cinemas, theatres and museums, as well as historical places. also we live a couple of mins (walk!) to the metro, bus, ferries...
    The expats’ community is pretty crowded here, and most lives in the nearby, but you will be surprised how the Turks are sociable and hospitable.
    Istanbul is a great city

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 max a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 618261679514