Help with gardening and animal care near Taunton, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    562

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hi there folks - looking for a couple ( small children are fine too)- with their own car to come and live up here for June and July - the helpload is not high - you ll have lots of free time which is why your own car would be good as you ll want to get off the hill. There's garden maintenance to do - grass cutting and weeding , friendly pigs and chickens to feed and dogs to walk. Basically I m offering free accommodation in the Blackdown hills in exchange for not much more than an hours worth of help a day.
    I will be in and out working which is why I need the help - there will always be someone around - we live in a bit of a community with friends staying in shepherd's huts and caravans.
    Its very relaxed and easygoing - I m a theatrical set builder and I ll be working at Glastonbury festival for a lot of June.
    Happy to answer any questions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language skills if English is not their first language.
    Gardening skills if they help in the garden
    They are encouraged to explore the local area to get a feel for the less touristy parts of Britain -
    Experience life as a local and not someone just passing through by being part of an informal, warm, friendly , family environment as opposed to a work based setting.

  • Help

    Help

    You need to be capable of doing the tasks on your own as I won't always be with you.

    Mostly it ll be gardening - cutting grass, watering greenhouse, strimming, picking veg as its ready and processing it.

    Then there's the animals - dogs need walking , pigs need feeding and tummy s rubbed, eggs need collecting, hen house needs cleaning out.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    house - spare bedroom with sort of ensuite shower internet and tv

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So I also prefer people with their own transport - we have bikes but we re on the top of a hill so although going down seems fun , coming up is a different matter.
    There's the coast 30 mins away, Exeter 40 mins away, cheddar gorge 40 mins away and Bristol 80 mins away. And NO local transport. I can give you lifts to town but I m not always available so the more independent you are the happier I am!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    you ll be welcome to park up here but if I go away you ll have to sleep in the house to keep the dog company :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 or 3 hrs, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 664254951547