Native English Speakers who are happy to share our way of life in beautiful setting of Lake Como, North Italy

  • Favourited 842 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We're Fabio, Elisabetta with a 9 y.o. boy, Fermo. We live in a big old house with garden in the quaint and picturesque neighborhood of Laglio on the shores of Lake Como.

    We are looking for English native speakers who are happy to share their time to be help in running our guest house as well as teaching English to our son while visiting one of the most beautiful destination worldwide.

    Since 2004 we invested our resources to renovate the family's summer house, with the aim to create an environment where peace, comfort, friendliness and a good atmosphere can all meet.

    In 2016 we had our first experience with workaway and from then on we were so lucky to have hosted so many wonderful people and great volunteers, from the youngest to the oldest, who helped us a lot and with whom we had the pleasure to share our house and day-to-day life as well as our experiences and thoughts.

    More than anything, we are looking for someone who is kind, cheerful, nature lover, really open minded, sociable and enjoys being with children.

    We provide a private duoble bedroom with wi-fi, tasty Italian food and enough free time to enjoy lake Como and our beautiful region as well as having the opportunity to meet a lot of people from different countries and walk of life.
    As to adapt with the new WA policies we are open to offer also a monetary reward based on the working hours per day.We are nonetheless still offering meals as part of the experience and cultural exchange.

    We are much looking forward to hear from you out there!

    Fabio, Elisabetta and young Fermo

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer the volunteer to live for a while on lake Como, enjoying the beautiful surroundings, experience the Italian way of life in a family atmosphere. Learn about gardening and growing vegetables as well as traditional italian cooking.
    Also the volunteers will have the opportunity to meet peoples from all around the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    the volunteers will help an estimated 5 hours per day and 5 days per week involving in various tasks from playing and teaching english to our child to help around the house, cleaning, prepare rooms for guests, serving morning breakfast and attending the new arrivals at check-in with helping with luggage and parking.
    We have a vegetables patch and we grow our own organic products and there is always something to do: weeding, watering the plants and flowers in the morning, trimming, sweeping.No particular experience is required since we will be always in the nearby altough we appreciate those with some past experience and that can also work in autonomy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private doubleroom with a superb lake view and free wi-fi and free meals.Sometime we might not be at home for lunch/dinner and volunteers are required to prepare their own meals using the provided products and with access to our fresh veg garden

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In his free time the volunteer can vist a territory rich in culture and history (Como, Milan, mansions and garden on the lake), but also engage in outdoor activities and sports (like trekking in the Alps, mountain biking, water sports) or simply relax on the lake’s beaches.
    Lake Como is a well known and appreciated tourist destination so can expect to find much of the services and activities from cultural offers to great outdoor experiences.
    Como is well connected with trains and buses to all the major cities in Italy.For istance, Milan is only 45 min and Florence 2 hours journey from Como.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 664148461339

Feedback (16)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)