Come and help our family in rural British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two young daughters (3&5). Giulio is originally from Italy and works as a chef. Anne-Marie is Canadian-born and works as a midwife. We love BC and split our time between the Okanagan Valley (beautiful dry desert climate with a riverside log cabin on 6 acres) and the islands of Haida Gwaii (south end of Graham Island in Queen Charlotte City, on the bountiful northwest coast); both places we live rurally and surrounded by nature. Travellers will best reach us if they have their own vehicle as we live quite remotely. We generally eat dinner together and encourage guests to prepare their own breakfast/lunch meals. There is limited cell phone service, and limited internet (email okay, streaming video not always so much). Talk to us if you come with a pet or other companion; sometimes we can accommodate :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a mixed-culture family and have enjoyed many travels ourselves. We have spent time in Europe, India, Thailand, several African countries (east and west), Central America, Hawaii/Mexico! We welcome guests to live in connection with our surroundings as we do. We eat as locally as we can and we participate actively in our communities as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We love welcoming guests into our quiet life and appreciate support with our daily responsibilities like: cooking, cleaning, childminding, gardening, maintenance of home and property, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on season and where we are living when visitors are with us, accommodation can be camping or a canvas wall tent (Okanagan) or a spare bedroom (Haida Gwaii).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers are welcome to join our family as we explore around where we live, as well as to explore independently. Whether we are in the Okanagan Valley or on Haida Gwaii, there is much wildlife to enjoy: hiking, hunting, fishing, biking, camping, gardening, river/ocean combing, etc. We also encourage guests to enjoy quiet moments as we do: reading, yoga, walks, meditation, art.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day, 5 days/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (3.0)




Host ref number: 663256436795