updated  

Enjoy some time as a member of our family in the center of Veszprém, Hungary

  • Favourited 36 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, Thyra and Gergő in their 40ies and three daughters, Lujza (12), Róza (10) and Izabel (7). We have a 3 year old dog (Nara) and a 4 year old cat (Mézi). Our kids have a lot of hobbys, attending courses like playing the piano, cello, horse riding, ice hockey, swimming, gymnastics, Hungarian folk dance, catamaran sailing.
    We live in the center of Veszprém, Hungary. Our hometown was the cultural capital of Europe in 2023, which means there are a lot of programs in all seasons.

    We would be happy to host people who are English or/and German speakers and happy to share their time as well as teaching languages to our kids through spending quality time together. We are looking for someone who is kind, cheerful, openminded and enjoys being with children.

    We live in a house with garden in the center of our hometown. We provide a private bedroom with wi-fi and a lot of free time to enjoy our beautiful city and region such as Bakony hills and lake Balaton (the largest lake in Central Europe). Our capital, Budapest regarded as one of the most beautiful cities worldwide is only 1h20 minutes away by train.

    If you think you might be interested, please contact me to get to know each other better.

    Looking forward to hear from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer the volunteer to live for a while experiencing the Hungarian way of life in a family atmosphere. You can learn Hungarian language (not an easy task), how to cook the famous Hungarian Goulash or fish soup (with fresh fish from the lake). You will have the opportunity to explore the calm countryside or meet people from all around the world at the touristic area, Lake Balaton. In summer there are several multi cultural music festivals in Veszprém and surroundings.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a caring, confident and fun individual who is happy to spend quality time together, helps the kids improve their English or German knowledge through board games or any activities, games with they can memorize the new words they learn. Other tasks are light houseworks, like helping around the house to keep everything organized. It is a huge help if you see what to do, for example the kitchen, dining area and living room run all the time so keeping it in order would be great. There are some seasonal things like window cleaning, foyer wall and interior doors washing,kitchen cabinets cleaning, which we do few times a year etc. From spring til autumn watering plants on the terasse and do some gardening with me. Preparing and serving meals sometimes. No particular experience is required because we will be always there to help and discuss everything.
    The volunteers will help an estimated 3-5 hours per day and 5 days per week involving in various tasks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private bedroom, shared bathroom, free wi-fi and free meals, which we would be happy to prepare together.
    In our home everybody has their own space but the living room, kitchen and dining room area is the center of our life. Our inside climate is cool in summer, cosy warm in winter thankfully the ceiling cooling and underfloor heating coming from the heat pump equipment. We also have a ventilation system with heat recovery, so the inside temperature is always good and the air-change is also handled by the machine. There is a robot vacuum cleaner which helps in the cleaning. In winter we happily use our Finnish sauna. The plants in the garden growing fast, my dream comes true in few years, when every plant reach their size. Every now and then I place new flowers, even if we have lots of flowers and bushes already, but I can’t stand it :-

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have decent internet connection.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As we have a dog and cat, hopefully they would be happy to have new animal members of the family.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 243463876971

Feedback (6)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Nomad experience and natural activity in Csabrendek, Hungary
Help me to bring my house back to life near Etyek, Hungary