Looking for help with general house and garden maintenance in Sere, in rural south west France.

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Julie and mark and we live in a 4 bedroom farm cottage with a large garden in Sere, in rural south west France. We have lived here for almost 8 years. Mark (53) is a printer and commutes to the UK weekly and I, Julie (49) do various things but mainly I have a small business making homemade all natural soap and candles and I sell on line and on local markets. We have two dogs, Willow and Roxy, who get long walks every day. We also have some garden chickens that supply us with fresh eggs daily. We enjoy the great food and wine that this region has to offer and I love to cook too and mark likes eating!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great region of France with lots of things to discover, beautiful villages, Armagnac and wine tasting. We are only one hour from the Pyrenees so the walking/hiking is excellent and skiing in winter. We are close to a couple of great fishing lakes and passes can be bought locally. There is also a sailing lake with boat rental available nearby and a local swimming lake. We are also close to various stops on the Route de Compostella. I am also a qualified Teacher of English as a second language so help with improving English is available for those whos first language isn't English.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with general house and garden maintenance, veg patch, bramble clearing and keeping things tidy. In the house there are a couple of decorating jobs and some general DIY jobs in particular we would like one of the bedrooms totally decorated that we have been putting off for ages!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two double bedrooms available with a shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about 1 hour south of Toulouse but we are very rural so public transport isn't always readily available. There is a train station at Auch and we have bikes that can be used otherwise a car is necessary

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The barn in springtime
Front of the house
Us on the beach!
Roxy
Willow
The local lake for walking, fishing and sailing

Host ref number: 662227552767