Help with childcare and join our family in Bowen Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 (myself, husband, 4yr old son, 1.5yr old son), living on Bowen Island. Bowen Island is very close to Vancouver (20 minute ferry trip to Horseshoe Bay and then 30 minute bus or 20 minute drive to downtown; or 25 minute passenger water taxi to Granville Island or Coal Harbour in downtown Vancouver). My husband commutes to work in the city 3 days a week and I work on island and from home. We love to garden, cooking, fish, and go swimming at the local pool. We would love help with childcare (mostly for the 1.5yo), meal prep, some gardening and house cleaning. Our kids our very social and love to play with visitors/babysitters.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This exchange provides learning about nature and gardening and the beauty of the Westcoast. Bowen Island is a special place and extremely popular in the high season (summer). Accommodation is very expensive and hard to find in the summer as there are no hotels or large chains of any type. It's a small quaint community surrounded by beauty and nature.

    Tim and I are both travellers and traveled together a lot in our younger years. He is originally from Hong Kong and I am from Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for childcare help for our 4yr old and 1.5 yr old. Our 4 year old boy is in daycare 3 days a week and our 1.5 year old will be in daycare 3 days a week as of July. We are looking for someone who is responsible, fun-loving, positive, hard-working, and motivated to help out mainly with morning/evening duties for our 4yo and daytime childcare for our 1yo.

    Tidying, laundry, vacuuming, general cleaning and small tidying projects around the house. Meal prep, baking, packing lunches and cooking dinner on occasion. Help in the garden: watering, weeding, planting. We are flexible on the hours and are open to having a 4 day work weeks so you can go and explore.

    My husband and I lived in Madrid and have a special place in our hears for Spain. We would love our kids learn Spanish so Spanish speaking would be a plus!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 4-bedroom, 2-level home with a view to the ocean. We are on the other side of the island so you need to drive to get to the shops. We have a scooter that could be used to get around so would recommend that workaway has an international drivers license.

    If you visit us, you will be staying in a private guest room on the lower level of our home where the entrance of the house is. There is a bathroom downstairs as well. We created this room especially for WorkAway guests so that you feel that you have your own separate space to retreat to when you want or need to. :)

    You will be invited to make yourself feel at home here! But do know that our home is filled with the sounds of a young, boisterous children, and so you must love children and be comfortable with that.

    You are welcome to eat with us. We can also order groceries that you like so you can cook your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of trails near by and we live by one of the best beaches on Bowen Island. We are a 20 minute ferry ride away from trips north to Squamish, Whistler, Pemberton, the Sunshine Coast, Vancouver Island, etc. On the North Shore of Vancouver, which we are very close to, you can visit the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Lynn Valley, hike the famous Grouse Grind for amazing views of the city, and explore an infinite array of trail systems, ski mountains (with cross-country and downhill) and snowshoeing terrain high in alpine territory. This is wild, coastal BC at its best!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6.5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 658964226682