Help take care of my horses on my family farm near the ski slopes of Oppdal, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Im Hege (50), live on a farm with my mother, 160 sheep, 35 cattle,12 horses/ponys, 1mule, 1 Donkey, 3 dogs and a cat.

    The farm is in the middel of the skiarea,so in wintertime i go skiing(alpine) almost every day.
    In the summertime i spend a lot of time in the mountains,looking after my sheep.I also have a farmhouse in the mountains where i use to stay for some days.

    There is a gondol who goes to the top of the mountain here,who starts 300 m from the farm.
    A lot of trails for walking and bike around the farm, rafting, paragliding.
    Close to Dovrefjell where the wild muskox and reindeer lives

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Animal care, Get to know another country.
    The farm is close to the centrum of Oppdal.
    If u like skiing, the farm is in the middel of the skislopes.

  • Help

    Help

    Since i have a lot of horses, i go horseback riding also in the mountains, but mostly around the farm.

    Its the horses i need some help with, feeding them and cleaning out the stable.
    About 2 hours a day.

    March/april i`m building a new barn,so a handyman would be welcome
    May its the lambing season,so im awake day and night
    June make fences and send the sheep to the mountains and the cows to their summerpasture
    Juli/september lot of trips to the mountains,with or without horses
    September very busy,take all the sheep and cows home
    October depend if there is snow,if not any snow they are outside
    November/december i use to go to a lot of different christmasmarket and rekoring to sell meat
    I prefer people who read newspapers,watch the news and are updated on whats going on.

  • Languages spoken

    Norwegian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will Get your own room and also your own livingroom.
    Share bathroom and eat with us.
    No vegan/vegeterians

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can check out visit Oppdal,there are all the information you need about the place i live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 2 hours a day,5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)




Host ref number: 656725924915