Stay with our family close to forests and lakes near Tartu, Southern Estonia

Country

Estonia

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a little family with two kids- boys 6 and 9 years old. I (hostess) am 33 years old and my husband is 35 years old. We have a cat named Käpik and chickens.
    We live in South-Estonia- just 5 km from city Tartu. Indeed we live so near to the city, we have very private place next to the forest and quite far from the neighbors.
    We bought this place two years ago and now we are reconstructing the house and fixing up the garden.
    We grow some vegetables and we have garden with apple trees, pear trees and some berry bushes.
    We have a very quiet and beautiful place here. There is a forests around and we have a two lakes with sandy beach just 3 km far. We do have bikes, so you can borrow some, if you like to go to swim or just ride somewhere. Of course when it is hot, we can go all together with car.
    We dry to rest also after working hard- then we grill or go somewhere with family. We like to rest at home the most, but if there something very interesting going around, then we go and take you with us if you would like :)
    In winter, we go to skiing sometimes. There is a good ski trails near us.
    If we have free time, we watch movies or play board games with family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can practice a english, can learn about Estonian nature, culture. You can learn about living in the countryside- how to take care of chickens and how to grow your own food.
    You can learn building and reconstructing the house from professional builder.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly we need help in garden and building our first floor. It would be cool if you have practised building, but it is ok if you are not. You can learn everything about building from host, who is learned building in school and had practised it almost 20 years.
    As our house is bigger the 400 m2, there is lot to do and we feel that we need some help :) We have reconstructed the second floor of the house just by ourself ( host and hostess). It took 2 years to do it :)
    There is always some work to do in countryside- doing firewood, mowing the lawn, helping in garden :)
    We also need help with building the sauna. There is always something build here :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in the big and comfy room in first floor. We live in the second floor. You have your private shower and toilet (try toilet in first floor).
    The meals are mostly with family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus station is 2 km from us. Busses goes once in a hour and its free drive to the Tartu city. There is a lot of activity in Tartu. You can go to swim (with bike) to the Kõrveküla lake or just hang in the forest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 654354535335