Au Pair on Homestead in countryside, France

Country

France

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are a young family living on an organic vegetable small holding on 3 hectares of gentle hillside in the early stages of creation. We purchased the land in winter of 2016, shortly after completing a Permaculture Design Certificate and feeling inspired to create our dream.

    Our vision: An abundant permaculture homestead and beautiful retreat space for those seeking sanctuary or to return to themselves and nature. Where we can live on the produce from our land (mostly) and share the surplus with the local community.

    Right now we are need of some support with our 1.5 year old daughter, Amaya. She is very easy going and fun to be with. Apart from that, you are also welcome to be involved in our work (play) on the land. There is a variety of activities depending on the season.

    In all our work, we do our best to incorporate permaculture principals. There will be plenty of opportunity to learn these principals for those who are interested.

    Languages spoken: English (At home), French, German, Spanish.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

    Peter, Prama & Amaya

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an opportunity to join a homestead project at an early stage. Even though child care is the main activity each day, there will be plenty of opportunities to be involved in gardening if you wish. Also to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside.

    We are surrounded by rolling hills, forest and fields. It is very quiet with fresh air and no light pollution. There are charming traditional villages to explore in the area and the region is famous for it’s food. There are many nearby cultural sites and tourist attractions too, including the Lascaux caves at Montignac, Hautefort castle, the St Christophe caves, historical village of Sarlat-La-Caneda and kayaking on the Vezere river.

  • Help

    Help

    Child care/au pair for our daughter, Amaya. Anyone is welcome and we are sure that we have something to learn from everyone, and we hope that all who visit will also take something away. No previous experience is necessary, although enjoying spending time with children and enjoying nature and peace and quiet.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our accommodation consists of an old farm house, a large partly renovated barn, a guest cottage and two small wooden cabins, and of course, camping. There is an outdoor shower and dry compost toilet and a small swimming pool. The surrounding area is tranquil and picturesque. The type of accommodation available depends on time of year and volunteer's needs. Please ask.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick you up from Brive la Gaillarde (or nearby) which is our nearest airport and train station. There are trains to Brive la Gaillarde from other major cities and airports including Paris, Limoges, Bordeaux and Toulous.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 654144341657