Help out around our small organic farm in Feios, Norway.

Country

Norway

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Guus and Laurien and are 55 and 65 years old. In 2004 we moved to from Holland to Norway to realize our dreams to be a small scale farmer.
    We have a small organic farm producing ice-cream from our own milk and fruit. we sell the icecream on markets, festivals and in shops. The milk is from an old breed called "Telemarksfe". We have also horses and beehives. We grow as much vegetables as possible for our own use and are selfsupporting as much as possible.
    We rent out 2 houses for tourists and have a bed & breakfast in our house.
    For the icecreamproduction we have professional employees and we would like you as a workawayer to do non profitable work such as gardening, maintenance of fences, chopping firewood, smaller buildingjobs and picking weed. We also want to give opportunity to learn and experience the local nature and culture like for example learning about beekeeping.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a touristic area with many points of interest. There are a lot of hiking possibilities and the Sognefjord is nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly we have smaller building projects this summer. For exenple a roof over the veranda, wood shedd, and other small projects. Besides we can use help in the vegetable garden and the care of cows and horses. We might as well build some fences this summer. In august the biggest job is picking raspberries.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small holliday cottage beside the river nearby. There is a washing machine, bathroom with shower a wood stove and all further equipment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 654139773292