Come join us and help us with the maintenance of an old monastery in Noord Brabant, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In 2017/2018 we renovated our an old monastery from 1896 in the village where we live. It was a big project/task for us without real building experience but it is such a beautiful and peaceful place. The garden is enormous (5000m2).
    There is a lot of maintenance that needs to be done, but especially nice, creative ideas for the large garden are enormously welcome. In the garden there are small houses that can use a meta-morphosis. The nature is beautifull here and there are lots of things to discover.
    We are very hardworking people who like to share have company around us.
    We have 3 kids who of which the last one recently moved to live on their own. We have plenty of space for guest, we love to welcome you and we enjoy socializing. The food we make here is varied and I like to cook together or you can teach us some dishes from other country’s.
    Our daughter and son have travel experiences and have recommended workaway to us. we are super excited about it. we would love to receive guests and exchange experiences and knowledge.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in a beautiful place in the Dutch countryside. Here you will have a truly Dutch experience because you will be surrounded with only locals.
    We want you to feel at home. There are several things that make this a great place to stay.
    Harry travels a lot for his work as a veterinarian so if you like you can go with him to farms. He travels throughout the country so he can drop you to a place you want to go.
    We have a jacuzzi where you can relax and we have a big garden.
    There are bikes to borrow and explore the area. There are shared meals.
    We love to play games. There is a possibility to make music around a fireplace outside.
    It is a perfect getaway if you are looking for some quietness and relaxition. There are nice villages nearby, and also cities to visit (Nijmegen, Eindhoven). The forrest ‘Staatsbossen’ is only 1 kilometer away from our home. It’s such a beautiful place for walks.
    We are curious what cultural exchange you bring us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for all kinds of help. also depending on what your interests are.
    Your own creative ideas are more than welcome. If you see something that’s need to be done, consult us and we will ensure that it can be made possible.
    Depending on what is needed, we can ask you for help us with gardening, painting, plumbing, woodwork, cooking, shopping, taking care of animals, cleaning and sometimes a small building project. We would love to make a bar in our garage. So when you are here, you can give us a hand with improving and make it enjoyable for everybody. In other words there is enough to do and I would like to invite people with a 'hands on' mentality to send me message!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own private bedroom with a big bed. We are planning to host 2-3 workawayers at one time so if there is someone else, you can make new friends. Your stay includes towels and linen and we offer the possibility to cook. We offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is also free WIFI so you can keep in contact with family and friends :-) We always love it when our house is full of people!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus station is around the corner, the train station is 5 km away. For Nijmegen you are 20 minutes away. If we have the option, we can pick you up and / or drop you off.
    The hours can be filled in very flexibly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 653851263762