Terrace and balcony gardening, light housework, interior painting while you explore Puglia, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Leah. I fell in love with Puglia 16 years ago and just recently purchased a charming townhouse in the historical center of the small town of Oria, a medieval hamlet in central Puglia. The home has super comfortable living spaces, an ultra-panoramic terrace, wellness corner with yoga mats, and an equipped kitchen perfect for home chefs. Vaulted ceilings, colorful tiled floors, and unique accents create a distinctive Mediterranean environment ideal for short or long stays.
    I am looking to find Workaways with their own car who want to come and spend two to four weeks in Oria. I may be there at the beginning of the stay but not the whole time so you would eventually have the place to yourselves. For this reason it likely makes sense to come as a pair so you have someone to enjoy the experience with :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Oria is an amazing slice of small town life in Puglia. There are very few tourists so you would have the chance to practice Italian at every exchange. It is not a beach town but an all-year-round-town so there is good energy and a fun cultural calendar even in the winter months. The food is out of this world and Oria would be a great place to practice your seasonal Italian cooking! Great base to explore more of the region.

  • Help

    Help

    My great hope is to find a budding architect or interior designer who is able to help me plan a terrace conversion on the top floor. There is a simple shed structure there now that I would like to evolve into a usable second living area. Looking for some great ideas!
    The terrace also needs some tender loving care, gardening and potting of plants, creating some green walls to increase privacy, etc. I would provide a budget and some direction but it would be great to have your own creativity and ideas to bring to the project too. Workaways who have some prior knowledge of Mediterranean potted plants would be great. In addition to this there could be some interior painting and general maintenance needed along with light housesitting responsibilities.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A sunny townhouse in the historical center of Oria. The living room has vaulted ceilings, comfortable furnishings, and a sunny balcony overlooking a tiny piazza. Spacious dining room that accommodates four. The Pugliese know that good food is everything and the well stocked kitchen has all the tools a home chef requires to prepare, present, and enjoy it all. Featuring a stovetop and oven, full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, electric kettle and toaster plus thoughtful details such as pie pans, high quality knives, Southern Mediterranean cookbooks, and more, this is a kitchen designed for cooking and you will be responsible for cooking for yourself on most occasions. The petite bedroom features exceptionally high ceilings, a queen sized bed with cotton bedding, two nightstands, and easy-open window for a gentle evening breeze. An internal whitewashed stone staircase leads up to the panoramic terrace. On a clear day the terrace provides views of both the Adriatic and Ionian seas while ancient groves of olives stretch out as far as the eye can see.

    There is an ample kitchen and you will be in charge of preparing your own meals. I will provide a stipend to cover basic food costs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Oria is right in the center of the best of Puglia so a great base for exploration! Boats leave from Bari and Brindisi to Greece, Croatia and Albania and the two nearby international airports connect you to the rest of the world easily!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 651196668396