Join our family and help us with our land in Nucșoara, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five members, who moved at the beginning of 2020 from Bucharest to the countryside, in Prahova country. From this year we start anew in a mountain setting, in Nucșoara, Argeș County, where we are currently camping during summer. We have a 4800 sq m plot of land that we want to transform into an oasis of permaculture and ecological living, with time, For starters, we will begin with constructing our house and taking care of the weeds, trees and creating fun space for our children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those who come to us will enjoy a beautiful area, at the foot of the Făgăraș mountains, with meadows and forests. In the heart of the locality is the karst lake Învârtita. The town is known for the resistance movement from the beginning of the communist period (Elisabeta Rizea Memorial House), but also for its traditions (woodworking, weaving, customs, and Christian traditions). We will create a place that will not disturb the history of the place, but that will remind people of the strong connection with the nature of our ancestors. We will offer travelers the opportunity to learn various techniques essential for an autonomous life, permaculture, or natural construction.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need people who share the values ​​of permaculture and sustainable and regenerative living. We do not need professional knowledge in the field of construction or agriculture, but the desire to work with nature and the materials it offers us.
    We'll need help for building different wooden structures on the land (fence, tool shed, outdoor kitchen, lumber shed, etc.) and for building a small house using timber framing and light straw clay techniques. Also, if you prefer smaller tasks, you can do cooking, or babysit our 3 small girls (6m, +3y, +5y). Depending on your arrival, you will help with one of these projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in the tents provided by us. We will provide mattresses and sleeping bags. Unfortunately, we are still waiting to have running water, currently, we are taking it from our neighbors. We only have electricity in the big tent where we are staying, but we could extend it if needed. This year we will start with the construction of the toilet and shower (June). Food supplies will be provided by us (local products, or store goods), and cooking will be shared. Please note that there are bears in the region. Generally, bears do not attack humans though :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Guided hikes can be arranged, or marked hills and trails can be traversed. The town is located between two rivers (Doamnei and Vâlsan). Nearby are the Corbii de Piatră monastery (founded in the 14th century on the oldest cave settlement in Romania), the Curtea de Argeș monastery (16th century), and many other cultural and natural treasures.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You can work in the shade of our walnut trees, or in a tent . For the moment we can only offer our mobile hotspot connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we can provide space on our property

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    There are stray dogs in the area and a dog on our property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 391674643537