International family, looking for a Spanish speaker to help out in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an international family living in the French Pyrenees with the most spectacular views of the mountains. I have my own small language school business teaching English, French and Spanish. My two children, a boy aged 14 and a girl aged 9 speak English (mother tongue), Spanish (father tongue!) and French, as they are schooled here. Sadly their father died in September 2017, and although my parents live close by, life is a challenge, juggling school runs, activities and evenings as I often have classes that don't finish until 8pm. Also my daughter was starting to forget her Spanish and for that reason I would particularly like to invite a native Spanish speaker to stay with us to help with daily tasks and to speak to us in Spanish. In return I can offer the chance to practise your English and/or French, possibly in classes depending on your level, the chance to discover a beautiful part of the world, and an extensive network of contacts both locally and internationally.

    Somos una familia internacional que vive en los pirineos franceses, con unas vistas espectaculares de las montañas. Tengo un negocio de enseñanza de idiomas (inglés, francés y español). Tengo un hijo de 14 años y una hija de 9 años que hablan inglés (por su madre), español (por su padre) y francés porque van a la escuela aqui. Por desgracia el padre murio en septiembre 2017 y aunque mis padres viven cerca la vida es bastante complicada con los niños, las actividades y las noches cuando termino sobre las 8 de la noche. Ademas, mi hija estaba empezando a olvidar su español, y por esa razon estoy buscando una persona que habla español como lengua materna para ayudarnos con las tareas domesticas y para hablarnos en español. Puedo ofrecerles la posibilidad de practicar su inglés y francés, a lo mejor en clases segun el nivel que tenga, en cambio de esta ayuda, la posibilidad de descubrir un sitio maravilloso y muchos contactos con gente de aqui y en el mundo en general.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This would suit someone who is interested in language teaching as I could offer a lot of help in that sense, having being a language teacher for over 20 years and having travelled extensively all over the world. I am well-integrated into the local community so opportunities to practise both English and French would be easy to organise. It would be a multi-cultural experience living with an English family in France and there is a particularly active alternative scene in the nearby town where I work, so there are opportunities to get involved in environmental, musical, sporting and all sorts of cultural clubs and associations. We have the biggest ski resort in the Pyrenees just half an hour's drive from our house and this part of the Pyrenees is an integral part of the Tour de France.

  • Help

    Help

    Native Spanish speakers only please, and car drivers as there is no public transport here, although you may not need to drive very much. I need someone who has some idea of French just for everyday situations, but it is not essential. I really need help with a bit of housework, cooking in particular, and just being able to pick up my children and look after them when I cannot be at home (I sometimes have to work away for the odd evening). Being confident about looking after children is very important, but also being open-minded, having a sense of fun and enjoying the natural environment around us. We are a non-smoking family that drinks very little alcohol other than at social gatherings.

    Hispanohablantes solamente por favor y personas que saben conducir aunque a lo mejor no tendras que conducir mucho. Un francés basico seria una ventaja pero puedo ayudar con clases. Necesito ayuda con tareas domesticas, sobre todo cocinar, y buscar a mis hijos y estar con ellos cuando tengo que pasar alguna noche fuera de casa por el trabajo. Es importante tener confianza con los niños pero tambien ser abierta de mente, saber reir y querer aprovechar de la naturaleza que tenemos alrededor. No fumo y no bebo mucho aparte en ocasiones sociales.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteer would have their own bedroom on the ground floor of our house with direct access to the downstairs bathroom. I would expect us all to eat together and I would provide all the food, but need help with the preparation of dinner, especially when I get home late.

    La persona tendria su propria habitacion en la planta baja de la casa con aceso directo al cuarto de baño. Me gustaria que comieramos todos juntos y yo pagaria la comida, pero necesitaria ayuda con la preparacion de las cenas, sobre todo las noches que llego tarde.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near the spa town of Bagnères-de-Bigorre, the ski resort La Mongie, Lourdes, Tarbes and Pau. Toulouse is the nearest big city (1h30 drive). The whole area is paradise for nature lovers, hikers, cyclists and skiers. There is no public transport service from our village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 647881959298