Help with chopping wood and other outdoor jobs in Sälinkää, Finland



Favourited 24 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  • Description


    Hello fellow Workawayers!

    My name is Alex (19), and I live with my parents (Sari and Kari) and two younger brothers Antton (16) and Aaro (14) in the Finnish countryside. We are located in a peaceful location with a beautiful view over the fields, about 1 hour by car from Helsinki and 20 minutes from our town center. We have a big wooden house where we are living a comfortable Finnish life.

    We need help with chopping wood with a chopper machine, as well as cleaning and organizing some sheds etc. There's also a floor and walls in our barn that need rebuilding (some basic carpenter skills might be useful with this task so that my dad doesn't have to guide us all the time). That being said, you don't need any previous skills to come here, you can choose depending on your interests and skills, and we will teach you everything.
    You would be working with me and dad, but it's also possible to be alone if you know what to do and prefer the solitude. We don't want to be your bosses, and you can freely choose what to do and when. :)

    I volunteered in Europe for a total of 6 months this and last year, and I am now back at home for a while. I would love to learn any skills that you might have!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see a common Finnish way of life, and learn about our culture and language.
    I can share my interests and skills (alternative lifestyles, sustainability, permaculture etc.), dad can tell about agriculture and dairy farming (we do not have cows anymore), and my mum has her own business so she can tell about that. My brothers know about video games and technology.

    We can also teach you to drive a tractor and handle a chainsaw.

  • Help


    Chopping wood is the most important job, as we use it most of the time to heat the house. We have stacks of logs that will have to be cut into shorter pieces, split and dried. We use machines that are attached to the tractor, and working with two or three people is very quick and effective.
    The secondary job is to organize and clean up some sheds, and even without actually seeing all of the sheds I can imagine it'd be best if you are not afraid of dirt, dust, spiders or mice. We can play music or chat to make this more pleasant, and it's all very relaxed so we can have lots of breaks and keep things varied.

    We have particulate respirators, gloves and hearing protection, all you need is clothes and shoes that can become dirty.

    While we hope you will help with these at least some hours every week, you can also do other household jobs inside or outside. You can play around with the work hours, so for example it's okay if you don't want to work at all on some days and then more on others, or 4-5 hours per day or whatever feels good!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Finnish, some Swedish

  • Accommodation


    Our house is divided into two parts (the old and the new) and I sleep in the old house, while my family lives in the newer parts. Both parts are basically separate apartments with their outdoor entrances, kitchens and toilets etc., but there's a staircase connecting them. You would sleep in the old house, and you can choose which room you want to sleep in. It's very peaceful and quiet there, with lots of natural light.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's no real public transport here, just one bus that can take you to the town at 8:00 and another one back at 15:30, Mon - Fri. From the town you can get a train to Helsinki or Lahti, and a few other cities along the way. I can drive you to the train station and back in the weekends, and you can hitch a ride from my family when they are going somewhere.

    If you want, I can also join you and show sights around Helsinki or other places, or go hiking or try different sports together. You can freely walk and even camp in any forest around here (jokamiehenoikeus/every man's right), go swimming in a nearby lake, forage for wild foods (and teach me!), play the piano/guitar/drums/cello/accordion, cook or bake, watch TV, listen to music, relax in the sauna, or just run around and enjoy life! There are also old bikes you can use if you want to go cycling.

    Distances by car:
    Sälinkää, 5 minutes (a small shop)
    Mäntsälä, 25 minutes (a few restaurants, bigger shops, a library, a train and a bus station). There's a bigger city 35 minutes away in another direction.
    Helsinki, 50 minutes (the capital city)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 - 25h / week

Dad with the chopper machine
Chopping wood in the late winter
Bedroom / living room in the old house, looking at the barn
Our house in the winter
Old house kitchen
Alex 2018
Host ref number: 644415392393