Join our family near Nantes and help us out with gardening and around the house, France

Country

France

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    353

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a big family of five children and our mother and although most of us are only occasionally home, there's always a lot of of people around. We also take care of two mentaly or physically handicapped adults who live with us and there often are one or two more staying at our place for a short period of time.

    My mum also run a bed and breakfast which brings tourists in the summertime. We live in a farm with rabbits, hens, pigs, cows all around, a couple of food-motivated cats, a horse and her calf and Iota, our great dog.

    We have an organic garden and green house that we try to tend to the best we can. There's not much around so it's very peaceful and quiet, but we are a short ride from Nantes (40 mins, trains also available), a great city to chill and hang out, shop and visit, with a lot of cultural and artistic events.

    There is also a smaller city 10 mins away with everything necessary ( i.e. super market, small shops, restaurants, movie theater and bars/cafes)

    Also, we try hard to be ecofriendly. :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family of travelers and have always loved to learn about different cultures and meet people from abroad. Here you will have a pretty good idea of what France is about, from the regional food you'll taste to all the people you will meet.

    The calm country side provides good opportunities to find out what France is like, away from the soulless big cities.

  • Help

    Help

    *️we would like the volunteers to stay a minimum of three weeks as it is better to create a bond with us and the adults we care for at home and not to confuse them. I think a longer stay is always beneficial for the two parties! :-)*️

    My mum is always very busy for she always has two or more projects running at the same time and is constantly having new ideas. The main project at the time is a collective association she co-founded that basically aim to change the way we take care of people with handicapps (social, physical, mental, etc.). The goal is to be able to give them a much needed and ever lacking attention by organizing various activities around agriculture, art, cooking and this is a non exhaustive list, all your ideas are more than welcome !!

    The help needed include daily chores : cooking, gardenning, probably some basic help with the computer as it tends to annoy my mum greatly, shopping, a bit of cleaning, spending time with the people we host and take care of. Also, and I think that's the main thing: we are open to any suggestions or ideas of projects and activities!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, and depending on the people around: English, Dutch, German, Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation wise, there are a few possibilities: shared/private rooms, a two bedrooms mobile-home and there also are a lot of trees to put up a hammock or pitch a tent in their shade! Shared bathroom. Access to kitchen & fridge. Wi-Fi available but the signal can be weak.
    A car may be at your disposal, but since we all share two cars it's never a sure thing, 😉

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So as I said above: Nantes is 30-40 mins away by train or car, a really great city to spend time at. A smaller one much closer is also nice and you can find everything you need there. 40 minutes away there is a huge theme park, Le Puy du Fou that won best theme park in Europe twice in a row.

    The coast is an hour away accessible by car and train, great all year long, for a swim or a stroll. We try to go out with the people we take care of every week end and you're always welcome to join. It can be for a movie, a regional day-festival, a day at the beach, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 643197748132