Experience farm life in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    376

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name's Greg, I have a fairly large vegetable patch, about three acres, and I sell at 4 markets, which doesn't give me a lot of time to do anything but pick vegetables and go to market! I just finished my first season growing in a winterized greenhouse I hope to have a commercial kitchen up and running by next winter... I speak Spanish as a second language as I lived in Mexico for a few years teaching English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience farm life, but also I'm a 10 minute drive from the second largest fresh water beach in the world. I always have a lot of healthy food . It's a quiet and sheltered locale and if you don't mind getting your hands dirty you'll find peace tending the vegetables and animals. Also, I have worked as a language instructor.

  • Help

    Help

    Difficult to say exactly what we'll be doing on a day to day basis, as the seasons change quickly so a lot depends on when you actually arrive! There will always be weeding, picking and cleaning vegetables, and food preparation and preservation in the summer and fall. Late fall and Winter will bring greenhouse work and "playing" with snow. The farm also requires a lot of maintenance like mowing lawns and tending the flower and herb gardens. When all that is done, then my house might get organized... Also, I've poured a cement pad for a brick oven that I'd like to build sometime this summer if you have some masonry skills. I have a fully operating wood shop, and machine/welding shop as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom and your own separate washroom. I can provide food from the farm if you can help with preparation on busy days. I prefer people who have time to stay for a while because there is a lot of instruction involved in how to take care of things and that takes an investment in time on my side that could have been better spent if you only want to stay for a week or two.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am very close to a great beach, excellent rock climbing, famous hiking and mountain biking trails and camping, and 20 minutes to the nearest "city", ten to the nearest town. I tend to rise and set with the sun, and after a few long days you probably will too, but there is wifi and netflix if you'd rather stay up. It's a non-smoking house, but you can do as you like outside so long as you don't litter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My ISP provides average Upload Download rates of 8.3/2.3

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room to park an RV, and electric hook-up/water should be simple.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Main concern around pets is how well trained they are. I have free range chickens and geese that are unrestricted in their movement, so if your dog has a prey instinct it would have to be on leash.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 638845473622