Homeschooling in the beautiful Peak District, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself, my partner and our two children live in a beautiful village in the Peak District. We homeschool and would like to host people from other places/countries both for the pleasure of connecting with others, and also to offer new experiences/languages/ ideas for our kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an open and friendly family and we mostly homeschool in a child-led way which visitors might find interesting. We spend as much time as possible outdoors - either in the woods or walking, scrambling and exploring the Peak District. I like cooking and planning food and I stick mainly to plant-based cooking; it would be nice to share cooking and meals with someone new. We keep chickens and have a cute hamster who is semi free range! We share gardens with 5 other houses, so you'd also get to know all the neighbours if you were here! I grow veggies (badly), play piano and speak French and Spanish and love languages, both teaching and learning. I also have a TEFL qualification so I'm a good person to be with if you're trying to learn English. My partner James loves comics and super-heroes and films. He writes as a hobby although he would love to turn it into a career.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly just need general help running the household and hanging out with the kids. Projects to do with the kids would be woodwork, crafting, music, dance, electronics, woodcraft, outdoor games and skills, languages, circus skills, sports, martial arts, storytelling, gymnastics, junk modelling, painting....
    We would expect workawayers to share cleaning, tidying and cooking. I am always happy if you have any advice about organising the home or changing our schedule to accommodate something you would like to do.
    We are open to anyone who has time to share with our children and who is practical around the house. Whatever your interest or skill we can find something for you to do I am sure. If you and the children were happy, we may ask you to babysit for a few hours sometimes.
    There is a gorgeous world of hiking, bouldering and climbing out here. We are not big into those things but we go for walks a few times a week and the kids go climbing and bouldering regularly. Sporty and outdoorsy people are more than welcome as we need a kick up the arse to be more active sometimes.
    Someone to do yoga or pilates with would be great for me. My partner loves films and is also writing a screenplay so he would be happy to have help with that!
    Can't wait to meet you... /

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom with a double bed, a cupboard with shelves and drawers, a chair and an electric keyboard/piano! The bathroom is next door and is shared. You will be welcome to eat all meals with us but I would prefer you to buy your own snacks and extras. We have wifi so you could watch films etc in your room if you have a laptop but there is no TV in the room. We have a big TV with PlayStation and dvd player downstairs and of course you can use those things but you would have to ask first.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful walks and bike rides. Train station nearby with trains towards Sheffield and Manchester, buses from here to other peak villages and to Sheffield. Heated outdoor pool next door.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi, you would be able to work at a desk in your room, or at the kitchen table

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campers can park on the street in front of our house

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 638757683196