Help at a Beekeeping Sanctuary one hour north of Toronto, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help us with several projects at our 31 acre countryside farm property north of Toronto. Honeybees, chickens and extensive gardens and wildflower meadows await you. We are professional beekeepers in our late-40's looking for seasonal help at our farm. We run a seasonal business that is exceptionally busy.

    No beekeeping experience is needed. Rather, we need hard working, open-minded flexible people who enjoy a wide variety of tasks from cooking meals to cleaning chicken coops. A love of nature, bee-ing outdoors, and flying insects is a must! We have two indoor Maine Coon cats (long hair), so you must be okay with cats. No allergies please. Building and painting skills are an asset. A passion for cooking is appreciated.

    Mature, positive-attitude and a willingness to work hard both independently as well as with a team.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️ Minimum age 23 years of age *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️

    International drivers licence is required with an ability to drive stick/manual. Assuming you can demonstrate you are a good driver, mature and responsible, there may be a vehicle available to tour the area on your days off.

    Final Note: You must have all your Canadian government paperwork in place (i.e Vacation VISA) plus the Insurance required by the Canadian government in order to volunteer with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our main priority are the bees, so there is an opportunity to learn about beekeeping with an organic approach.

    Our country property is adjacent to the World UNESCO Biosphere Niagara Escarpment, in a beautiful part of the world, just an hour north of Toronto, Ontario Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    SEASONAL HELP (May to October):

    We require individuals who like variety, and get bored with routine. They are comfortable working alone and also with others. There are many different projects (indoors and out) and tasks that need to be done, depending on the month. Being physically fit is a requirement. Building and painting skills are an asset. A passion for cooking is appreciated.
    Assisting at our local Farmers' Markets every weekend is required, so being comfortable interacting with people is essential.

    We expect all Workawayers to help with all meals, cooking as well as preparing for meals and some light housekeeping chores as necessary. 
 Please note that cleaning up after yourself is not considered working time but is part of the collective adventure of cohabiting. This includes light housekeeping, your food preparation and post meal clean-up.


    2019 PROJECTS include:

    AUGUST
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ We are looking for a Workawayer for the whole month of August to help look after our 11 year old son, as well as some tasks. He's in a day camp for 2 of the 4 weeks) *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️
    - Splitting/stacking firewood (we have a log splitter)
    - Chicken care
    - Farmers Markets
    - Gardening and property maintenance
    - Special projects

    SEPT-NOV
    - Harvesting honey
    - Farmers' Markets
    - Splitting/stacking firewood
    - Special projects



    VOLUNTEER INFORMATION
    Volunteers please bring plenty of old, comfortable working clothes. This is Canada - expect a variety of weather. Waterproof clothing are invaluable as we work out in all weather. Sturdy footwear is required. Bring all your own toiletries, sunscreen, toothpaste etc.

 We provide bedding, towels, and pillows.

    We're looking for you if.....

    You are motivated, energetic, at least 23 years of age with experience of this sort of lifestyle or a real desire to learn about it. To get the most from our experience you need to be happy with doing a variety of hard physical work outside plus housekeeping and meal prep inside. You need to be adaptable, flexible, focused, curious and enjoy the company of others, while also being comfortable on your own.

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️You need to be able to work alone or as part of a team - you will be doing both*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️.

    It is not possible to do this work if you are not in good physical condition.
 It's important to have a strong command of the English language, as we are teaching about beekeeping and our sustainable practices.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, and a little bit of Spanish and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with a queen sized bed in the lower level of our home. Access to a large bathroom with a sink, toilet, and shower that is primarily private for your use.

    We will provide all food. Breakfast and lunch on your own. We plan to eat together at dinnertime. It is expected that we equally share the cooking duties, so you will be assigned 2-3 dinners per week to make. We provide all of the ingredients. We eat everything, love a variety of different foods and have no special dietary restrictions.

    Salt water pool is available during your time off.

    Internet Access: Our WiFi is rural - meaning we only receive a limited number of GB per month. There is no option for us to have unlimited WiFi being country residents. This means no streaming, downloading, Netflix, YouTubing, FaceTime video and/or heavy WiFi use. That being said, the WiFi is relatively high speed for checking eMails, sending texts and Skype phone calls. WiFi is available at the main house.

    We have two long haired Maine Coon cats. You must NOT be allergic to pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short drive to Collingwood, Creemore, Orangeville and Barrie. Toronto is the 4th largest city in North America and it is 90 minutes away. Pearson International Airport is 60 minutes away. Hiking the Bruce Trail, mountain biking, relaxing by the pool are all things to do with your time off.

    We can pick up you from Barrie (GO train or bus station) at a mutually convenient time if you do not have a vehicle. On certain days we may also be able to pick up from Toronto and/or Pearson International Airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Your hosts, Jeff and Debbie
Acres of wildflower meadows surrounded by forests with trails
Welcome to our Bee Yard and veggie gardens !
Our Main Apiary and veggie garden
We have 30+ hens and a rescue rooster names LeBron. He is SUPER gentle.
Main Residence
Our gentle free-range chickens. Farm fresh eggs every day!
Our hens strutting their stuff
Saltwalter pool for relaxing after work!
Our pollinator sanctuary
Large saltwater pool to enjoy during your time off




Host ref number: 637146629714