Help with renovating house and gardening by the sea in Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 278 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    488

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a smalll family with a 2yr old, cats and chickens, who are interested in gardening, teaching basic outdoor skills to children, self-suffiency, music, art and green building. We are based by the north sea where we are renovating the house so it can be used for future generations. Some of us also have part-time jobs outwith. We are also involved in our local area, maintaining forests, starting edible trails, planting community orchards as well as running a beach school.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English, German, Spanish, French and some Portuguese and we love exchanging languages, chats about travels, recipes and we are happy to teach you building skills, gardening, permaculture designs, self-sufficiency, capentry, crochet, chess, vegetable growing and I am sure you will bring along a line of skills that you can teach us! We also have a lot of books on living self sustainably aswell as lots of good novels. In the winter time we enjoy playing music by the fire, playing ping pong, watching films on a projector and cooking nice food :)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in renovating the house by putting insulation in the roof, joinery work and clearing out old things that have accumulated in the cellar and the workshop. Ideally you have some basic tool skills.

    Other projects that are going on are that we run an air b n b and need help with cleaning and setting up the space.

    We will do lots of wood chopping in the winter, coppicing and collecting fire wood.

    We are planting as much veg in the garden as the Scottish climate allows, so any help with weeding, composting and building a pond would be appreciated.

    So, we need people with buidling skills (or definately willing to learn), enthusiasm, a hang for the practical and just having common sense when seeing a job that needs to be done :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your little hut outside with a woodburner and the basics such as bed , shelves and table. And use the shared bathroom and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are several beautiful coastal walks to beaches, cliffs and rocks with a National Reserve not far. The closest pub and shop is 45min walk away with occasional jam sessions. Donnottar Castle is not far neither.

    The Cairngorm mountains are 10 miles away. There are local buses and we have a few bicycles to choose from and there is one vehicle that we can use for trips. We live in a small hamlet with 5 neighbouring houses directly by the seaside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 636743757639