Help our family (3 children) on a sheep farm in beautiful area of Scotland, near Grantown on Spey

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 226 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for a couple of workawayers who are Sheep daft!!!
    Lambing time will be at the start of April and looking for help, this can be hard work but very rewarding, Early mornings, late nights, wet days, freezing hand, and lots of lamb cuddles, also with a bit of childcare, cooking etc thrown in for good measure.
    Must not be afraid of muck and goo and love being out side in all weather!!!
    If you are Traveling at the start of April Come and experience a rural lifestyle on a sheep farm in the heart of the Highlands of Scotland.

    I am a single mum of 3 young children, Amber 7, Rowan 5, and Ruaridh 3 1/2 and run the farm myself. The children attend a local school, and nursery. I own a farm that has sheep and cows, along with a pig, hens ducks and collie dogs. `

    The local area is great for walking, fishing, bird watching, skiing, cycling and simply chilling out in the great outdoors! The local town is a 5 minute drive away and has a few small shops and a supermarket.

    I prefer there to be 2 or 3 volunteers on the farm as it is very isolated. Accommodation is in two static caravans which I let out to holiday makers in the Summer. But volunteers can stay in these between bookings. They are located at the other side of the farm to the farm house where I am living.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful area of Scotland in the Cairngorm National park, there is lots to do nearby, skiing, fishing, mountain biking, lots of walks and beautiful places to wild camp. Experience with sheep farming and child care.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for easy going people, self motivated people who don't mind getting dirty in the outdoors in Scotland. Animal and children lovers, who like a variety in tasks and like to give things a go!

    My mum comes up a lot to help look after kids, but I would like to take a bit of the pressure of her, meet new people and get a little help with jobs around the farm and house.

    There is always plenty of jobs to be done and looking for some extra hands to help with kids, Cleaning out sheds, stripping out an old house ready for renovation (currently underway!), general farm and building maintenance, grass cutting/gardening and some work with livestock.

    Ideally I am looking for workawayers who would like to spend a few weeks or more, as I just feel I and the kids are just getting to know them and they are away again!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Static caravan which can sleep up to 6 people

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful area of Scotland in the Cairngorm National park. I live a few miles out of GRANTOWN ON SPEY where there are quite a few shops, hotels etc, also buses to larger towns like Aviemore and Inverness. There is also a lot of outdoor sports groups to get involved with round here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 636592944243

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more