Dog lovers welcome for small home projects on the south coast in Bournemouth, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 322 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi , these times are so difficult for people who wish to visit and those who wish to host!
    I am an experienced Workaway host who postponed hosting, like many others, due to the Covid epidemic . I am now willing to host people who take Covid seriously and have been double vaccinated. My health isn’t great so hence the stipulations.
    Please note that I can only host people who do not smoke and who love dogs. Also Ideal if you are vegetarian but don’t worry if you are not. Also given the UK is not in the European Union anymore you would need to have a work visa and I would need to have a copy of this.
    Sorry to sound so formal but that is the way it is!
    Your help for the period you stay would include cleaning, sorting out the home, simple decorating , simple gardening and if you have skills in maintenance that would be a real bonus but not essential. Also occasionally could be dog walking which may sometimes include my daughters bigger dog. Also maybe you might be on your own in the property with or without my dogs for a short time so people need to be self sufficient. I am looking for people who are flexible.
    I am a woman in my sixties and enjoy meeting people from different cultures. I have a degree in social work and hold a DBS which is a police background check.
    I consider myself very fortunate to live in Bournemouth as it is a beautiful seaside town on the south coast of England, with lots of areas of interest close by. Coach travel to London is not too expensive

    I live in a suburb of Bournemouth, about a 25 minute walk to the town centre. Walking distance to travel interchange and well served by public transport. My home is a maisonette in an Edwardian house, opposite a lovely park. The maisonette is fairly spacious with 2 bathrooms and an additional toilet. There is a good WiFi connection and homely living room. Washing machine and tumble dryer available for weekly wash. Pleasant courtyard at the back in which to sit. The home is double glazed and there is gas central heating in the home so it is always warm and cosy.
    Depending on your skills of course, Tasks at different times of the year could include:
    Dog walking
    Cleaning
    General tidying
    Gardening
    Decorating
    Carpentry
    Home maintenance

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an educated woman and willing to converse with you and help with your English. If you walk the dogs you have the opportunity to chat to other local dog owners. . As there are many language schools close to my home a part time course would be very easy to organise around the hours I would wish you to help and I can help you with this. Also there is a training school for teachers locally and there are free English lessons available. Good English Conversation clubs available locally. Weekends would, in the main be free, unless I go away, which is not often.

  • Help

    Help

    Considering moving so could do with some help sorting. Help really would be dependent on household needs and your skills . This could include help with my 2 small dogs plus occasionally walking my daughters bigger dog . Also help with cleaning, light gardening and home maintenance such as a little painting, decorating and household repairs. I would love to have skilled people contact me as I have so many household tasks I cannot deal with
    My dogs are very important to me so I can only host people who are happy with dogs!
    Whatever the main requirement I would like people to help generally within the home . General home help means emptying bins when full, taking out rubbish, filling/emptying the dishwasher , helping clearing up after meals etc. Really very commonsense things you should do when sharing so nothing difficult. Help could be fitted in during the morning so there would be plenty of free time for you to explore the area or meet up with friends etc. Weekends would in the main be free, unless I go away which is not often then there would be 2 days free during the week

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer a workawayer a comfortable single bedroom of their own. If 2 friends wish to come I can offer a shared room or maybe a room each.There are 2 bathrooms and an additional separate toilet in the home. Washing machine and tumble dryer for weekly wash. A washing line outside.! Prefer people over 21 but not absolute on that requirement.as depends on the individual. I am happy to cook but at times you will need to cook for yourself so you need to be fairly self sufficient. . Vegetarian In the main. In the evening guests are welcome to sit in the living room and watch TV or DVDs with me or by themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walking Distance to trains and coaches. Good buses into Bournemouth town centre. London is easily accessible by coach or train. London airports have good coach links to Bournemouth. Local airports in Bournemouth and Southampton provide flights to and from Europe. Beautiful places to visit on the doorstep including, The New Forest, Hengistbury Head, Christchurch, the Jurassic Coast, Salisbury, Winchester. Lots of good pubs and clubs in Bournemouth and extraordinary beaches

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Desk in room, study light etc. Good internet connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 20 hours/4/5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 634414893332