Come and share our family living in rural Suffolk, UK. Help with projects in the garden, grounds and house and care for our animals !

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 57 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are the O'Donnell's, located in rural Suffolk. We have a house and property dating back to the 1640's. At one stage it was a local Inn (pub) and more recently during the 2nd world war it had up to 40 evacuated children from London. So its full of character and history. We are a family of 5, with 3 children, Eliza 8, Jasper 6 and Arthur 3. We have ponies, chickens, sheep, guinea pigs, a dog and a cat ! It's a busy life, but we live healthily, enjoying every moment of our beautiful rural location. James works on a horse breeding stud locally, Emma works at a local school. We are looking for Workawayers to come and share and help improve our rambling garden woodland and grounds. If you are looking for some interesting projects and a typically English experience with a fun, friendly and active family, then please get in touch !!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of rural Suffolk, close the historic Market Town of Bury St Edmunds. Cambridge is 20 minutes on the train and London can be reached by train in 2 hours. We lead a typically English rural life, with chickens, ponies, sheep and a large vegetable garden. The village has a strong community, focussed around the local pub. Our house was built in the 1640's, so there is lots of history in the area !

  • Help

    Help

    We have a number of projects in and around the house, gardens and grounds. We would like to build an amazing tree house for the children, build some stables for our ponies, repair some broken walls and keep on top of the woodland areas around our house. We have a large garden and vegetable patch,so there is always plenty to get on with. There is also lots of exterior painting and decorating to be done as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a converted barn in our grounds that the Workawayers will stay in. 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, sitting room and dining area. Own washing machine. Wifi. Wood burner. It is secluded, very peaceful and most importantly unique and beautiful !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 15 minutes drive (or bus ride) from Bury St Edmunds, famous for its brewery, arts, theatres and cinemas. The area is well known for rural food and drink, with local produce appearing on most pubs / restaurant menus. We live in a beautiful, yet accessible location, with miles of walking through the farmland and countryside. If wanted, the workawayers could be in central Cambridge within half an hour or central London within 2 hours. The North Norfolk coast is only 1.5 hours away, with miles of unspoilt beaches.
    We are a busy family, but like to lead a healthy lifestyle, growing our own fruit and veg, with more time spent outdoors. We try and avoid the TV !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per week

Workawayers accommodation. 'The Pink House' !

Host ref number: 634259254366