Landscape gardening on our smallholding and helping with furniture business near Machynlleth

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 472 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living on a small-holding with a woodworking shop making rustic furniture.
    The family comprises Paul and Suzanne, our two daughters Ella and Olivia, and Suzanne's mother Irene.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very active family and workawayers are encourage to join us in our various hobbies, including yoga, soccer, Tai Chi, mountain biking, canoeing and general socialising!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a smallholding and a woodworking business and are always looking for help with various projects. We are usually looking for a carpenter/builder/electrician/plumber/general handy people to help with the ongoing projects at home and at work, and this spring we are also in particular need of some help setting up our shepherds hut in time for season.

    We run a small business that makes rustic furniture and composting toilets and our woodwork shop is just five minutes from our small farm, where we keep chickens and grow vegetables. We are also in the process of converting the old goat shed into a residential property for Irene.

    Accommodation for workawayers is in a recently completed wooden Shepherd's hut in a lovely spot by the river. We encourage workawayers to spend time with us in the house but it is also nice to have a self-contained place to go to if you want some privacy.

    Our family includes: myself (Paul) and wife (Suzanne), our two young girls, Ella and Olivia, Irene (Suzanne's mom), 10 chickens and a part-time dog! Between us all we speak English, French, (Swiss) German, Welsh, and Afrikaans. Quite a multilingual bunch!

    Please message us if you would like to come and help :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German and Afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shepherd's Hut or Caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in beautiful countryside surrounded by trees and hills, 4 miles from the town of Machynlleth. There are plenty of outdoor activities in this area: some of the UK's best mountain biking trails, hill and mountain walking; the beach is 25 mins away for surfing or canoeing; and there are rivers and lakes nearby, too. The university town of Aberystwyth is a 30 min train ride away, with shops, cafes and restaurants etc.
    We can lend you a bike and will provide transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 634193875142