Looking for help to bring back to life a beautiful Victorian walled kitchen garden on the Norfolk Suffolk border, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are looking for help to bring back to life a beautiful victorian walled kitchen garden that has been neglected for a long time. We live in a beautiful area on the Norfolk Suffolk border, in unspoilt countryside, not far from the sea, with plenty of space.

    We have a toddler and another baby due in the early summer so life is quite busy but there are always fun things happening and we are often entertaining or hosting friends so you will meet some great people too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will give you a warm home with plenty of great food and will be able to help you get to know the local area. You will definitely experience english country family life here in this little corner of Suffolk and as we have a fairly open house there are often really interesting creative people around to meet. We have travelled a lot in Africa, north America and parts of Asia and are always keen to meet people who are on their own adventure.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help mainly in the garden, which is about an acre and a half and as yet not very established. It is however quite magical as it is a very old walled garden with greenhouses and surrounded by incredible trees.

    Having experience in gardening is essential as you will sometimes be working on your own. We try to keep things as organic as possible and employ permaculture/no dig principles so some understanding of this would be helpful. The work might include moving compost, mulching large areas, weeding, planting seedlings, pruning fruit trees, helping with harvests, clearing paths, mending and putting up gates, cleaning out the chickens. We are still learning about growing and self sufficiency - which is the aim - so hope this can be a mutual exchange of knowledge.

    Although most of the help is focused on the garden, an occasional hand in the house may be needed if we are particularly busy, and the odd night of babysitting.
    This might suit a couple travelling together, as my husband and I both work from home and so will not be in the garden all the time... having a companion to work with might be helpful unless you love your own company!

    We would expect five hours help a day five days a week - we can be flexible as to when these days are.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a small amount of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own room (can accomodate two people if travelling as a couple) with separate staircase access and a private bathroom and wifi.
    We have breakfast and lunch together but we may have supper separately depending on plans. We always have a well stocked fridge and larder so you wont go hungry, and if you love cooking we will be delighted if you can help prepare the occasional meal too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the middle of the countryside, but about a twenty minute cycle from a train station which will get you to the coast, or into Norwich (a lovely little city with plenty going on), and London is 2.5 hours away by train. We are not really within walking distance of any shops and the local village is very small (although there is a lovely pub) so a car would definitely be an advantage or we may be able to provide a bicycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 633734869124