Volunteer in our family home in Yalikavak, Bodrum, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 299 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large house and extended properties in the Yalikavak, Bodrum area. We are high in the hills with magnificent views of the sea and the Greek Islands. We have 2 suite apartments and a small village house which we may lend to visitors from overseas in the summer.
    We are a family of three including an 11-year-old daughter who is learning Spanish and French.
    We always have a project we plan but have not executed.

    We are not smokers, we do eat meat but also love vegetarian culture, We have internet. We have 2 friendly village dogs and a house cat. We are as laid back as possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are food people. We have both operated restaurants and headed Food organizations. Local food is a specialty and can be learned by helping. Learning restoration of antiques. Learning gardening. Learning about interior decoration, photography, and art.

  • Help

    Help

    For males or females:
    Keeping surrounding area near owners house in good order, pruning, pulling weeds, planting veggies, etc.
    General garden tasks, occasionally some painting, cleaning, of interior and exterior design objects.
    rearranging a small garage that was just relocated.
    Being a companion for our daughter.

    For female or male: general house and garden tasks

    On off days, there is Bodrum to explore. It was one of the seven wonders of the ancient world.
    Day trip to Kos Island in Greece.
    Visit Ephesus in Selcuk, Turkey only 2 hours away. This can be combined with an Ephesus and Pamukale trip over a weekend.
    Then of course, you can always visit the local villages near the house.
    Yalikavak also has one of the best Marinas in the world.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would be in one of the suites or cottages we normally rent in the season when available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Yalikavak is on the sea and Bodrum City is a 5000 years old city, 30 minutes away. there is plenty to see on the peninsula. The Island of Kos in Greece, is a day ferry trip, Thirty minutes from Bodrum. The villages nearby are great to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum















Host ref number: 347568733934