Help us with some gardening and building projects on the island of Mallorca



Favourited 207 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    From April we will be looking for a couple of help us with some garden projects including finishing an irrigation system, putting a doorway in a wall and general gardening and household work. We are trying to be as self-sufficient as possible from our garden and throughout the year we would like help with different things: in the Spring we need to do soil preparation and planting, in the summer we need to pick and preserve fruits and vegetables and do lots of watering and in the autumn we would love help making wine from our grapes and pomegranates plus getting in the winter vegetables. In addition to the garden we have some apartments that we rent out so there are always odd jobs of painting and basic DIY to do. Palma is a very cosmopolitan city with plenty going on in music, art and sport. The island itself is exceedingly beautiful and there are still many places hidden from the tourist track that are well worth exploring. The other four islands in the archipelago each have unique flavours and traditions and can be easily accessed by ferry - or air if you are feeling richer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    We have a large garden on several terraces with chickens and a bee hive. We like to grow plenty of fruit and vegetables even though we are only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Help in the garden is always appreciated. We also have some building projects we are looking into such as converting a room into a sauna; putting up a conservatory using wood and glass - possibly with a solar panel roof; building a parabolic solar oven and putting up a spiral staircase to an upper terrace. We often need help with bits of touch up painting as well, so we are looking for someone who is practical and who doesn't mind animals as we have a dog (so friendly that she unfortunately welcomes burglars!), three cats and a rabbit in addition to the bees and chickens. We also have a pool that we could use help with maintaining in the summer. My husband is a captain and so spends some months away at sea and, as I enjoy going sailing occasionally at the weekends, it would be useful to have someone who wouldn't mind feeding the animals if I wanted to leave after work on Friday and come back on Monday morning. We have three "children", the eldest is studying at London university but will be home for much of the summer, our daughter is working on boats and may be around sporadically but is currently floating about the Indian Ocean, and our youngest son is just finishing school and hopes to be at university in England by September 2015. We all speak English and Spanish, the children also speak French, Catalan and a little German.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    A ground floor bedroom with en suite bathroom. Kitchen, lounge, pool and garden facilities to be shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is on the Spanish island of Mallorca. Although we are a few minutes walk away from the centre of Palma - the island's capital - we are surrounded by woodland, yet able to see the sea from the house, so everything is very close. We have excellent bus transport to the city centre, and from there you can take trains and buses around the whole of the island. Mallorca is the biggest island in the Balearic archipelago, but all the islands are well worth exploring ... so long as you keep clear of the main tourist areas! Mallorca has a gorgeous mountain range which is wonderful for walking in. It is also an international centre for cycling and many national teams train here throughout the winter months. It is easy to take ferries between the islands and so explore them as well. During the summer months of mid June to mid September the temperature usually stays between 30ºC and 40ºC but can go higher at times. Throughout the rest of the year the climate is pleasantly warm except for (usually) a few weeks in October and late February/early March when it rains and is colder. We live in a narrow cobbled street close to Bellver Castle. Although the population is predominantly Spanish/Catalan there are also many Swedish, Danish, French, German, Polish, Bulgarian, South American and English residents in our immediate area. Because our family is one of adults we tend to be quite relaxed about mealtimes etc, the fridge is always full and has a shopping list attached to the side of it which everyone writes their requests on. If someone is cooking they usually ask the others if they would like some too, but there are no "expectations" on any individual to provide for others at every meal. However, when a meal is over, if there was a specific cook then it's the task of the others who ate to clear away, and for the kitchen to be left in the same state as it is usually kept. When the children were younger we had several very successful summers hosting au pairs, so we are not unused to having people stay with us and we all enjoy finding out about different cultures and customs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 631363842164