Help us build + beautify our houses + surroundings and with the garden, animals and household on El Hierro, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 652 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in Tejeguate (search for it!) on El Hierro and are a family of six, two parents and four children (2006–2012) with a big ecologic permaculture garden, many fruit trees, some animals (horse 🐴, hens 🐔🐣, bees 🐝🍯), a big climbing frame with swings and a trapeze, and a lot of ideas to improve our infrastructure.

    At the moment we live in a wooden house with two storeys made of Euro pallets. Our plan is to have some stone houses (made of natural volcanic stones) for us and some wooden houses for our guests (friends, helpers).

    ===================
    We mostly need people with experience in BUILDING AND CONSTRUCTION (carpenter for wood, mason and bricklayer for walls).

    WE OFFER PAYMENT for professional craftsman/-woman.
    ===================

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to live self-sufficient with minimum resources, how to grow food, and you will enjoy the very natural island of El Hierro, which is like being sent back in time 50 years (compared to the rest of Europe).

    You will learn how we manage living in a big family with four children that are taught at home (homeschooled).

    You will have the time to
    • hike or cycle through the wonderful landscape of this youngest and active volcanic island
    • explore caves (many long and adventurous lava tubes)
    • swim and dive (there are a lot of animals in the sea around El Hierro —they like it quiet!)
    • and fly (paragliding) if you want.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are searching for people that have either experience in working with wood (at least for oiling and maintaining), gardening and household aid, kitchen aid. We also need some artists or architects to beautify our houses and surroundings.

    Our idea is to improve the situation for our visitors: build small houses or huts made of natural volcanic stones or recycled wood. That means also build the roof and the interior (some furniture, doors, windows) and oil the wooden parts.

    Then we also need help in the household, that is cleaning the dishes, hang out the washing to dry, buy some stuff, carry waste to the waste container, bring new gas bottles, …

    And it would be nice to have some trainer or artist for our children to do artistic gymnastics (on the floor, parkour) and aerobatics (trapeze, aerial silk) or similar.

    You can also help in our big garden with vegetables and fruits and planting more trees.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep

    • in a wooden tent or
    • in the guest house made of Euro palets (which is cute but simple) or
    • if you like sleep under the open sky, for viewing the stars and planets and the milky way or
    • you can bring your caravan or mobile home.

    At the moment we have one composting toilet, a second one would be nice.

    The shower for our helpers is open air (in a hidden place).

    We produce our own electricity with our solar powered mini photovoltaic power plant (but only during the day, because we have a very small battery system).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a bicycle that you can use. We have no car. Hitchhiking on El Hierro is very easy.

    We have one of the fastest internet connections in Europe, 300 Mbit/s up- and download (symmetric!).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have one of the fastest internet connections in Europe: 300 Mbit/s symmetric optical fibre connection. That means you can download or upload a big video file of 1 Gigabyte (GB) in 26 seconds. Also we have 3000 Watts of solar power, so you can use and charge all your devices all day (not night) long as much as you want to. We have 802.11AC WiFi and Gigabit Ethernet connections.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big parking space, you can wash your car or camper (we have very high water pressure) and you can also clean it inside with our (solar power using) Dyson vacuum cleaner.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 691271376483