Help on a small organic farm in rural NH, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have 5 acres of lightly improved land. 4 years ago it was logged, 3 years ago I purchased it. It’s a bit of a haul to restore the soil and topography without hiring large machines to come in and push everything around and further insult the land. This spring we got 3 little pigs to help with that. They are interesting!
    3 summers ago we planted 2 rows of blueberries, grapes, apple trees, raspberries, and other perennials. I have a small greenhouse. It’s on the edge of a small body of clean water, sloping west. It’s got an amazing (for well forested NH) amount of solar potential.
    I am planting these acres with a long term goal of creating an abundant, self sufficient, off grid, inspiring homestead to share with the local community.
    It’s about 2 miles from the picturesque town of Harrisville, with many clear deep lakes to swim in.
    I’m a musician, I play guitar and several other stringed instruments and sing a lot. I’ve also spent several years teaching yoga. We are also vegetarian.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm lies right on the Monadnock-Sunapee Greenway Trail. Lots of hiking. The local town of Harrisville, a former mill-town, houses many artists, and the best general store ever. On Monday evenings, fiddlers gather at the local town hall to play for the local contradance. Down the road from there, Apple Hill hosts their yearly summer chamber music workshops, and present delightful, and free, concerts on Tuesday evening.

  • Help

    Help

    It’d be nice if you loved the land, growing, learning about growing and living off grid.

    Projects you might be a part of: mowing, trellising for grapes and hops, planting more trees, prepping and planting vegetable beds, weeding, watering, feeding pigs, cooking. The little 5x10 house down by the water needs a rebuild. Paths need to be created. Rainwater catchment system needs tweaking. Outdoor shower enclosure.

    As you can see, there’s always plenty of projects to work on.

    The well driller will be coming next month, and I’m hoping to install a large hand pump that will need a concrete pad. Solar needs to be researched and installed. The shed loft where I live needs interior work, wood boards cut and installed.

    A simple summer kitchen needs building, a covered open area for both a home built grill and the bread oven...

    Yes, plans to build an outdoor bread oven, I am a fervent bread baker and a dreamer of community bake nights, with pizza, music and all. Materials need to be gatjered. I have the bricks.

    This will be my third summer on this land and I can’t do it myself. My best friend the farmer comes by to help from time to time, but he’s off to the west coast this year. It’s so much easier with more hands.

    If you think this could be a good fit, I’d love to hear from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanglish, Franglish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a 20’ yurt on the platform, at last!
    There is also a small building down by the water that we can repair and make straight again, it’s in a swath of beautiful oak trees next to the little dock. Shady and private.

    There will be a outdoor community kitchen. I will provide food and most times we will cook together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Monadnock Mtn is our local landmark. A sort of Mt Fuji of New England. Great lake swimming with 4 beautiful ponds and lakes nearby. There’s of course hiking, cars to rent in Keene, live music nearby, farmers markets, and a large theater in Keene which often has national acts in music and theater.. For bigger city events, Boston is 2 hours due east.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 631192229623