Experience farm life in Texada, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I operate a small/medium farm on Texada, and it keeps me pretty busy. I'm not organic but use organic methods when possible. I moved here fall 2018 from a previous farm and still have many projects to do. I need people who see the vision and will work with me to attain it. I will work longer hours than you...I don’t expect you to keep working. If you can cook, let me know and I’m happy to hand over the kitchen so I can tackle more projects.

    This winter I have fencing and building projects, and machinery maintenance I’m working on. Possibly many small building projects.

    Larger scale, I will have a barn project and a renovation project and could use an experienced carpenter.

    I have a room in the house available or a rustic bunk house style room in the old cottage. Prefer longer stays due to training that needs to happen.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn small/medium scale farm techniques. I have many stories of farming and also of working on ships. I am happy to teach engaged workers skills necessary to start a new farm. I have worked with previous farm worker programs and enjoy helping people learn english and teaching the skills needed for small scale farming.

    I am also very musical and sing and play guitar, there can be many nights of sitting around playing/singing/having a good time. I have a small recording studio which we may be able to use in down time.

  • Help

    Help

    I operate an active mixed farm with sheep, pigs, geese, ducks, turkeys and horses. Much of the farm is old and looking for people interested in animal husbandry in addition to people interested in history restoration/preservation as well as new builds. Minimum stay is 2 weeks, would prefer longer but short may work depending on projects. For a farm stay, I need someone mature and engaged who listens to instruction well. For building there are many options for work being done including restoration of old buildings, new outbuildings, fencing. For gardening, there is a house garden as well as a large winter garden for storage vegetables for the livestock through the winter. There will also be a very active hay season and then fruit harvest on the farm where workers who appreciate hard physical work will be appreciated. Though not necessary, I would love to find some longer term visitors who can farm-stay for some school time I need to do away this year.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have an old farm house with the middle section of the house segregated as a sleeping cottage. Water/laundry/ washroom/cooking is shared in the main house. I can't cook every meal, but the ones I can are shared. I will provide regular food but no specialty foods. All meals include meat/dairy/eggs as this is a working farm where we take pride in eating what we grow/raise/produce.

    There is no smoking on the farm or in accommodations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Texada Island is full of history and things to do and see. Activities can include mountain biking, hiking, beach-combing, horse riding...we have flora and fauna unique to BC/Canada and this is an amazing place to live, work and stay. We have mountains, amazing trails and forestry lands, and many, many beaches.

    Powell River is the nearest city, and has an amazing network of trails and lakes in the coastal mountains nearby.

    Access to Texada is either by plane or by ferry.

    Ferry routes can come 4 ways ways - via sunshine coast out of Horseshoe bay through to Powell River, via Nanaimo out of Horseshoe bay ferry (Vancouver) then drive to Comox, via Tsawassen to Duke point (Nanaimo) then drive to Comox, or via Tsawassen to Victoria then drive to Comox.

    Planes can come 3 ways - into Powell River, into Comox then short cab ride to Little River Ferry Terminial to Powell River, direct to Texada from North Terminal Vancouver or Parksville.

    I can pick up people at Texada ferry terminal and possibly further depending on the day/time of arrival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day


Host ref number: 628137974638