Help in our retreat lodge and home on a beautiful lake in the Kawarthas near Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

  • Favourited 138 times
  • Last activity: 9 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 with two girls 11 and 16 We run a retreat on a beautiful lake in the Kawarthas near Peterborough Ontario. The area is filled with wonderful opportunity for outdoor adventure and is only 2 hours from Toronto. We love the outdoors and enjoy camping, boating and hiking as well as skiing in the the winter. We speak English and French and some Spanish. We love to travel and meet new people. We are involved in our faith community and have enjoyed welcoming New Canadians from Syria to our community. We love to partner with organizations who are helping to make life more equitable for all including those who serve the most disenfranchised in our community. We welcome all to our retreat centre and home regardless of race, religion or sexual preference.
    Presently we need help with outdoor cleanup and maintenance mainly but will also use other gifts and passions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunites to explore the city of Toronto, ski in the winter, canoe, kayak and hike, be exposed to many different people, enjoy the use of the retreat lodge, art room and the 27 acres of Canadian forest. We also live very close to Kawartha Highlands Provincial Park. We are a fun loving family who are wanting to make a difference in the world and are needing some help with the business of it all.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Presently mostly outdoor cleanup but also some indoor cleaning and care. We are looking for a someone who is flexible and enjoys a variety of experiences such as outdoor cleanup, gardening, cleaning, laundry, and taking care of our beautiful golden doodle, some building projects or painting and other projects depending on interests and skills. When we are home we love sharing meals (cooking is awesome), listening to our girls play their instruments (musical ability is always appreciated), sharing in life together. Depending upon the time of year we love to include our workaway guests in all aspects of family life. Ability to drive our car would be helpful in order to be more independent. A car may be available. Depending upon interest and skills there is opportunity to explore outdoor pursuits, work with local charities and other interests. We are excited to expose our children to other cultures and languages.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Summer you will occupy our apartment mostly. Other times another kitchenette room or off grid cabin depending upon availability and comfort level.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can help with transportation and can provide a car to use when necessary. We would expect that someone would be like family in our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 627556975527

Feedback (7)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)