Join an eco project in Santander, Colombia

  • Colombia
  • Favourited 581 times
  • Last activity: 2 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hello, my name is Miguel Ángel I'm 31 years old and my farm is nestled in the mountains of Santander, Colombia, bordered by two rivers and a one hour ride away from San Gil. With 40 acres of virgin land, a gentle weather, and a host of nature activities, it is the ideal getaway for workawayers looking to explore the wild side of Colombia !

    This months I'll need help with beekiping, gardening, general maintenance, and I have the Idea to start with pottery, (so all concerning ceramic processing).

    I'm also germinating seeds to reforest part of the mountain that was used in the past for grazing cows. And also I'm experimenting with liqueurs using the farm's products. So this is a space to experiment! All people who want to learn or share knowledge are welcome in my place. 😀

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I dream my farm to be a place of experiment, of creativity and cross-cultural, where people can learn by puting their knowledge together : skills, languages, etc. ( I can teach Spanish and French). I'm a city-guy who decided to go live in the countryside, so everyday is a learning experience for me! Hope it can be one for you too!

  • Help


    In general, Im looking for creative people, who would like to add their mark to my farm. Sharing, discussing, proposing ideas and helping me realize them. Whatever quality you might have, might be appreciated ! 😊

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I have some beds to propose but if you prefer to camp or to sleep in hamac is also possible.

    As to the food, the idea is to cook all meals together whenever possible.
    Typically eat 3 meals a day. Breakfast, lunch and dinner which is the main meal.
    I'm omnivore but mainly eat vegetarian dishes.
    I bake my own bread and sometimes I do pizzas too.
    Please let me know about special dietry requirements!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live about 7 km outside the village in beautiful unspoilt nature.
    if you love nature - thats the place to be!


    To reach Mogotes you need to find a place called "terminalito" (in San Gil) and you can take a bus going to Mogotes town (environ 1 h rode 9000 COP). Once in the town you can take a moto-taxi to my farm, (environ 12000 COP).

    Things to do in the farm :
    - Swim in both rivers,
    - Hike (20 minutes walk to the water source ; 2 hours walk to the Mountain Top called « Alto el Canelo », 2000 mts high)

    Things to do around :
    - visit the tourist-free Mogotes (20 minutes away) and the small villages around : Onzaga and San Joaquin ;
    - visit San Gil (50 minutes away), known and visited for its water sports ;
    - cross the Chicamocha Canyon and climb to the « Mesa de los Santos » (2 hours away) ;
    - discover Bucaramanga (4 hours away), busy university and commercial town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have comfortable place and Internet

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 625161139192

Feedback (20)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Farmstay, ecohotel in the green mountains of Antioquia, Colombia
Connect with mother earth and visit one of the most beautiful and sacred mountains near Bogota, Colombia