Come and help our family around our permanent gardens in Oklahoma, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Chris and Jessica Stewart, and we have 4 boys; Noah 12, Micah 10, Asher 8 and Levi 6. We are both in our mid 40's and have been married for 14 years. In the past we owned a coffee shop, and Chris sold cars, now we currently own several rental properties in Tulsa. He also plays the piano and guitar and sings at our church. We live on 15 acres in Kellyville, Oklahoma outside of Tulsa, OK. Kellyville is a small town of about 1,200. My husband and I both have travel experience. We have been to Mexico, Belize, Grenada, Germany, Luxembourg, Great Britain, France, Israel, Russia, Japan, China, Malaysia, Philippines and South Korea. We are a part of an awesome Christian church community in Bixby.

    Our place is beautiful with a tree lined drive and other mature trees including 2 peach, 1 apple, 2 pecan trees and wild blackberries. We have an in-ground pool. We experience beautiful sunrises and sunsets since we are on a hill. Although we live in the country we can see and hear a highway. We have two cats, three dogs, and about 30 chickens. We love to grill out, cook, bake, and experiment with real food.

    We have a lot of dreams for our place, but little time due to homeschooling, caring for this place and working full time. We can get stuck by not knowing where to start with all of our ideas and dreams! Some of our dreams include building a greenhouse and barn, raising meat birds and animals, planting more fruit trees, and having extensive gardens. Our boys are very helpful, but still young, thus our desire to have a work away guest.

    YOU MUST LOVE CHILDREN: We have 4 boys that are very active, love basketball and soccer and riding on their four wheeler. They are homeschooled, so that means they are involved in everything on "the farm". They do chores everyday and know what it means to work hard, but they are still kids. You will not be required to care for them, but they will be around, they live here!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn what it is like to live in the country, raise small animals, interact with four amazing boys, cook our dishes, rest and enjoy life. Although we do have activities in town like church, sports, and shopping, we spend a lot of time here being creative, working hard, playing, and resting. We have movie nights and game nights. If English is not your primary language we would love to practice with you. Originally Jessica was going to become an English teacher, but switched to Elementary education.

  • Help

    Help

    CURRENT SMALL PROJECT FOCUS: What we are currently working on and wanting help with is our permanent gardens between the house and the pool. We will be building some raised beds and maybe a fireplace, digging a French drain and extending a patio.

    Our accommodations will only work for a single person or a couple. You must enjoy working outside as most of the things that we need help with are outside weather permitting. We have interesting weather here in Oklahoma that can change from day to day.

    Please communicate with us about your strengths and skills that way we can utilize your strengths and skills best.

    OTHER HELP:

    Gardening, seed starting, digging, planting trees and plants, trimming bushes and trees, clearing brush on a fence, mowing and weeding, moving mulch, spreading compost, and stacking wood. Some animal care, feeding chickens, cleaning chicken coop, washing and packaging eggs.

    We would love to learn from you! If you have experience in gardening, small project construction, teaching, and animals, please teach us! If you have ideas for organizing projects, we want to learn. Bring your expertise. We love ethnic food and learning how to cook ethnic food.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate private apartment from the house. It is a converted double garage, so there are two rooms, bedroom and living/kitchen area. It has a raised bathroom with small shower (no tub). There is a small fridge, coffee pot, table, two chairs, couches, kitchen sink, microwave, electric double burner, double bed, closet, and five windows. It has a covered back porch with a porch swing.

    FOOD: We will provide all meals, but you will be responsible for making your own breakfast. Fresh eggs and other food will be stocked and provided. We will provide lunch and dinner, or you can choose to eat a meal in the apartment if that is your preference. We will have a planned menu, so communicating your food preferences is important. We aim to eat as healthy as possible. We eat meat, fruits, and veggies and limit carbs and sweets.

    NO PETS PLEASE! - We have two Great White Pyranees, a Border Collie and about 30 chickens. Our dogs are very protective and do not like other dogs on the property.

    NO SMOKING! No DRUGS tolerated, Occasional alcohol is okay, like a glass of wine or a beer with dinner, after work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick you up from the Tulsa Airport or bus station. If you have a car, we will give you directions.

    During your time off you can hang out with us or rest, read, sit on the porch swing, swim, watch movies, play soccer, or go on a walk. We will do our best to take you places if you don't have transportation.

    "Tumbling rivers, expansive lakes, Tallgrass prairie and rolling green hills are the hallmarks of this lush region, rich in culture and verdant grandeur. Tulsa’s sophisticated city lights offer the ultimate in metro exploring, while trekking Route 66 takes you into the heart of the definitive road trip experience. A winning combination of outdoor life and charming communities, Green Country is a bold adventure you’ll never forget".

    Tulsa is quickly becoming a destination spot! The Gathering Place is a new city park in Tulsa that was just named America's Best New Attraction by USA Today. . Tulsa has many unique places to explore, and discover. We are a 25 min. drive to downtown Tulsa. If you have a bicycle, we live 7 miles from Lake Heyburn, and there are other places to bike like Turkey Mountain.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Apartment bedroom
Apartment living room
Apartment kitchen area
Apartment back porch in the summer.
Oklahoma sunsets!

Host ref number: 624374536895