1 / 4
updated   Last minute

Help us look after our Alaskan Huskies near Rovaniemi city centre, Finland

  • Favourited 441 times
  • Last activity: 21 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am 37 years old woman living in the north part of Finland 43 kilometres from Rovaniemi city with my fiance and our 87 alaskanhuskies. We live in the quiet area surrounded by nature. The only sounds are our dogs howling few times a day. Besides the dogs we also have a few chickens. We have a business activity but workawayers are not going to be helping with that. Only helping at home feeding the dogs, cleaning the fences and playing with the puppies and help us with building projects and some house tasks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about Finnish culture, nature, sleddogs and northern lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    Morning drinks/feeding the dogs, cleaning the dog fences/yard, building projects, house heating, some cleaning, snow work at the winter time. Help training the dogs and playing with the puppies. Please be prepared that this is a hard outdoor work in every weather. The weather in general here is cold compared to Mediterranean.
    We will prefer workawayers who have experience with dogs and is capable of doing things independently.
    During the summer time we have lots of building projects like fixing/doing new dog fences, doghouses, summer kitchen etc.
    Also you will need to have a driver's license and know how to drive manual.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a private room, internet access, shared living room, kitchen, toilet, bathroom and sauna. breakfast, light lunch and dinner included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 43km from the Rovaniemi city centre and the closest grocery shop, post office and restaurant/bar is 27km away. We go to the city centre ~2 times a week. We have ski's, snow shoes, kicks sled and bicycle you can borrow. And snowmobile and atv you can borrow if you have driver's license and experience of driving them before.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a wifi connection available

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 623725513159

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.2)

Communication: (4.2)








Help around our family home while learning Finnish culture and language in Tampere
Help with our horses and DIY projects in West Finland