Help around a historic farmhouse on the edge of the Scottish Highlands, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 268 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Our family home is located in stunning scenery just outside the picturesque village of Comrie on the edge of the Scottish Highlands - about an hour's drive north of Edinburgh and Glasgow.

    The farmhouse lies within a designated "National Scenic Area", on the edge of the famous Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park.

    The fields surrounding the house are are bordered by a fast-flowing trout river. They have not been actively worked for many years and have become a haven for wildlife. We have plans to plant native trees to increase biodiversity and restore features of the land, house and garden which have been long neglected.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have the opportunity to practice english language skills and work outdoors in some truly spectacular setting - seeing the best of what Scotland has to offer in terms of wildlife, scenery and interaction with locals - all with a high level of home comfort.

  • Help


    We're looking for an individual or couple who can help with miscellaneous tasks around our historic farmhouse. The work is likely to be very physical and could involve tree planting, splitting and stacking logs, rebuilding stone walls, pruning bushes, repairing fencing, clearing weeds and non-native plants, feeding our horse, outdoor painting, carpentry and general gardening. We have a preference for volunteers whose first language isn't english. Usual length of stay is 3-4 weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Russian

  • Accommodation


    2 x Bedroom with double bed and own bathroom in separate part of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surrounding area is great for hillwalking, wildlife watching and going whisky tasting. Bicycles are available for trips into the local villages of Comrie and St Fillans and for exploring further afield. Fishing for salmon and trout is available on-site during the fishing season. There is a nearby bus stop providing regular connections to St Fillans (on Loch Earn) and the towns of Crieff, Stirling and Perth. Nearest stations are Dunblane, Gleneagles, and Perth

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 621466683457