updated  

Join us on 52 ft sailingboat for various boatwork, near Gothenburg, Sweden,

  • Favourited 38 times
  • Last activity: 12 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    June 28th till July 8th - The departure date is set for July 22nd

    WE HAVE A DREAM of sailing the world, or at least some of it:-).
    We would be very happy if you would care to help us on our way by assisting in various boat maintanance, to get the boat in great shape for the next passage.
    While doing that you get the chance to enjoy your spare time in the beautiful swedish west coast archipelago, whilst living togehther with us, and our very loving middlesized dog, on our boat in the harbour.

    WE ARE: Lene (danish, 56, midwife, psychotherapist with interests like yoga, hiking and healthy organic vegetarian food), Lars-Olof (swedish, 59, engineer, a philosophical technician with interests as interhuman communication, sailing/boats and various DIY projects (the boat has a workshop with a whole lot of tools in it).
    We share the love for the ocean, protecting it, walking by it, winterbathing in it, sailing on it and diving in it.
    Both of us are very good at english.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    WE OFFER: A friendly and grateful environment, where we will try hard to make you feel welcome. Scandinavian people are known to be openminded in many ways and we hope to prove that.
    Geograficly the area is in the interesting borderland between the sandy beaches of the southern part of the swedish westcoast and the extraordinary northern very rocky parts, so you will get the opportunity to experiance both along this very uniqe costline of Scandinavia.
    SAILING: Is very popular in Sweden and if the weather allows it we might go sailing one of the days during the weekend, you can join and enjoy the experience of the beautiful southern archipelago and/or learn a bit about seamanship.
    LANGUAGE: You will be given the opportunity to learn a little bit of swedish/danish if desired.
    PRACTICAL SKILLS: Lars-Olof can teach you basic elements of different boat work
    COOKING: Gain experience in vegetarian/vegan dinner, based primarily on typical scandinavian vegetables

  • Help

    Help

    WE WISH: One or two easy-going persons:-), experience with boatlife/work is not a "must".
    WE NEED: Help fixing minor projects on the boat, like polishing stainless/gelcoat, cleaning teakdeck and the internal of the boat.

    WE SUGGEST: Hours from about 8.30 am to 1.30 pm.
    The 2 days off pr week as you prefer to take them.

    WE NEED HELP IN FOLLOWING PERIODS: Week 27, from June 28th till July 8th

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMODATION: You will be staying with us in our 52 ft boat in the harbour of Vallda Sandö, Kungsbacka.
    The boat has 3 double cabins, kitchen, 2 small bathrooms, dinette and salon. It offers a heating system, water, electricity, fridge/freezer, internet.
    2 bikes may possibly be available.

    MEALS: Breakfast and lunch we take as desired. Dinner we will make together, vegetarian/vegan version.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    THE AREA:
    There is a very beautiful coastline and numerous hiking trails accessible around the area.
    Cities of Kungsbacka and Göteborg can be reached by public transportation.
    Near Kungsbacka you find among many other things
    - Naturum Fjärås Bräcka Visitor center, where you can learn about flora and fauna, geology and cultural history of the area including several hikes
    Tjolöholms Slot from 1905, Swedens leading Arts and Craft properties with guided tours at the castles free hikes around the peninsula.
    Göteborg offers big citylife and also include several museums, “Universeum”(national science center) and boattours around the harbour and canals

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 619657862851

Feedback

Join our family and help us with daily tasks in Lerum, Sweden
Come and help us maintain the house and farm Vetlanda, Småland, Sweden