Ecofriendly and international community starting up in the hills in Hunendoara, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 1217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    53  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    As a traveler and world citizen I love to meet and host broadminded and adventurous people. I offer accommodation, good food and company and I'll appreciate all help given. I meditate and do yoga almost daily and you are invited to join. If you play an instrument, have a particular skill or make art, join us, if you are modest, honest, independent you'll fit in, if you have a positive attitude, a healthy TEAM-spirit and are willing to contribute to this place you are most welcome. If you smoke, want to use drugs, drink alcohol, gossip or fool around then this is not the place for you.

    Since a bit more than 4 years I live most of the year in an old house on 8 hectares of diverse land. It was abandoned for 16 years and needs renovation but it is livable and the land around is very healthy. Since short there is electricity and Wifi. I live here in good harmony with David, my son, his girlfriend Iris, and their kids Felix and Norah. They are my closest neighbors at a good stones throw away. They own another 7 hectares of land. In this little valley we found all we need to live in peace and harmony with nature. There is a rich biodiversity, there is silence, clean water, fresh air and enough challenges to keep us busy. Travelers and volunteers Mathias and Jennifer landed here a while ago, with their daughter Emilia, they built a nice wood-straw-and-cob house with help from friends and volunteers. They cultivate their own piece of land and set up a food forest, newborn son Kyan was born there and they are happy and healthy.
    A bit further friends George and Dina live with kids Jean-Paul, Daphne and newborn Sacha. Two other young familles with a daughter and a newborns joined the community, they are in the process of buying house with some nice land near us.

    We share an old 4-weel-drive car, some tools, the chicken and a certain vision. We help each other when needed, we respect each other's privacy, we work hard to get things right and we have good times together. As an internationally oriented, multilingual and diversely skilled group of people we provide the kids what they need and want to learn, according to their interests and needs.
    We live a mainly vegetarian, natural and eco-friendly lifestyle keeping the balance between idealistic and realistic, theory and practice. We eat and drink for good health, good taste and good energy. We are hard working and life enjoying humans with a warm heart for all life on earth and wide open senses for the miracles of nature, including humans. In spring- summer- and autumn volunteers from all over the world join us to live here. In the wintertime nature outside takes a rest, so we work inside the houses, play board-games and enjoy the snow.
    In the last century the group of houses around here in the hills and valley were called 'Bratea' which means bracelet, this is how we call our community. Officially we are part of the village of Balşa which is at the river, seen from here 20 minutes walking downhill.
    My piece of land includes, next to the old house with 3 rooms, a 'gipsy wagon', where 1 or 2 can sleep, a tepee, where about 10 can sleep and the 'Tarzan & Jane' tree-villa that is half way to be built. In the summer we sometimes set up some tents.
    David & Iris' land was given the name of ' Gradina Edenului', 'Garden of Eden' in Romanian.. that name reflects our vision of a ideal community. Here we do what we can to fulfill our dreams, nowadays explained with terms as 'permaculture', 'food-forest', 'earthships', 'tiny houses', 'off grid', 'mulching' etc.

    We intend to build different ecofriendly 'habitats' where guests and volunteers can stay for longer or shorter periods, we dig 'swales', ponds and lakes to optimize the water-flow, we plant trees and bushes, we seed to enrich and to produce food and materials, we work every day to make it all as comfortable and self sufficient as possible. We harvest and process what nature provides and we do all this with much respect, love and gratitude. We learn daily from being together, from living in the magnificence of Nature and from discovering the infinite greatness of Universe.

    In teams we work in the mulched gardens, in the forest, at the buildings, on waterways. We transport stuff, clean and organize stuff, we bake bread, collect raw greens, eatable flowers, fruits, mushrooms,... We have pizza parties, music sessions, creative days, discoveries, rain, muddy days, sweaty bodies, camp fires, stargazings , philosophical discussions. We grow friendships, food, muscle, sixpacks, consciousness, skills and probably, if we open up and go for it, some life experience and wisdom. I forgot to mention a few things like swimming in the lake, discovering caves, collecting and storing wood and preparing facilities for ourselves and guests to live comfortably.

    The circumstances are simple and 'off grid' which technically means no triple A++ comfort except in your bed. It means improvising and often, compared with 'civilization', surviving in the wild. We cook on wood fire, recycle our food in the 'compost' toilet, 'shower' outside, get drinking water from different sources.

    We have an 'organic' way of working, a loosely structured schedule and way of spending the day, depending on weather- and other circumstances, things have to be done when needed and only with pleasure. Cooking, cleaning and household stuff are seen as maintenance of ourselves and not as work. We normally get up fairly early to start with an hour of silence meditation for who wants to join, mostly from 07.00 to 08.00 am. After breakfast, until 9.00am. everyone will do in consultation what he or she likes to do and thinks is the best contribution to the whole. In the afternoon, who wants can again have an hour of silence meditation, mostly between 1.30 and 2.30, after which we take a good lunch together. Later we work some more and rest in the evening. Mostly we have another hour of meditation between 8.00 and 9.00pm. There will be no big meal in the evening but you can take a snack and drink, watch a documentary or movie, get explanation about the meditation technique (Vipassana), read or write a book, make music, play a board game, go for a hike, enjoy your free time and the good company... Everyone is free to join or not although it is essential that you will be part of the whole TEAM.

    Sometimes, mostly on a Saturday morning some of us go downtown to Orastie to buy what is needed on the local market, in shops and supermarkets. Sometimes, mostly on a Sunday, we go for a good hike or we declare a special Sunday.

    If you are motivated to take the challenge I guarantee that you will get used to the circumstances and that you will learn end enjoy a lot . If you are practically skilled, a musician or other kind of artist, a professional in something or just a sweet, nice and motivated person please apply, we need you and we will be super grateful if you spend and share some of your time and energy with us.
    We ask for a minimum stay of 1 month, preferably longer, we ask commitment, individuality, proactivity, motivation, willingness to contribute and a smile. If you look for a place to stay longer or to settle down come over, participate and check us out. We will have space for about 8 to 10 volunteers, all ages, genders and cultures, the more diverse the better.

    If any questions or wishes, let me know.
    Looking forward to welcome you and to work with you.

    Mike and company,
    Bratea, Balşa, Hunendoara, Romania,....

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have a very good time and unforgettable experiences. You will learn everything you want, from philosophy and meditation to gardening and building, music making and other ways of being creative. You will make new friends.

  • Help

    Help

    We'll take good care of you. We'll discuss what kind of tasks you like to do. We'll give you the time you want to discover the environment and the country. We'll help you to get the experience that you are looking for. We'll see that you have a good time being part of the team. All kinds of jobs are needed, see the description above.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Language is a living thing and, as a traveler and discoverer of the world, one discovers the beauty of communication and the art of language. In this community we have at least 6 different native speakers: French, Dutch, English, German, Romanian, Latvian and Swedish. Some of us speak reasonably Spanish and a touch of Arabic. We'll also practice on mastering the language of Silence in which one can hear everything and the language of Love and Patience that connects even opposites.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll get a sleeping place for yourself, in a tent, the gipsy wagon, the Tepee or in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will do whatever we can to give you a good time and to fulfill your wishes. Hikings, bike rides, dinners together, board games, creative sessions, campfires, cooling down in the river, ...live music, ..go to the swimming pool nearby, .. visit sites, ..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Better and faster Internet is one of priorities, now daily Wifi has limits. If you can help to get it better I will invest what is needed. In the village there is cable network.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The last part is uphill over a tough dust- / mud road so if your van is low on the wees you better park it on the safe parking space in the village and walk uphill. In the summer it is easier to come up the dry road, it is wise to check it beforehand.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets allowed if they are well educated, not aggressive and if you take care of them for the full 100 %..

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Organic way, average 5 hours × 5 days per week of serious working..

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.2)




































Host ref number: 677317723941