1 / 2
updated  

Live with a multicultural nomad family and help us teach new languages to our kid in Briançon, France

  • Favourited 93 times
  • Last activity: 10 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple from France and Hong Kong with two young kids aged 6 and 3. We've been traveling a lot with our first kid, as he has already visited almost 40 countries. However, we had to put a halt to our nomadic life due to the sanitary situation. We moved to Briançon in 2021 and we've been living here ever since.

    We have been hosted throughout the world, and we have several experiences volunteering abroad, the last ones being 3 different volunteering experiences in summer 2020 in Switzerland. For the first time in our lives, we have the opportunity to have our own place and host people, therefore we'll be happy to welcome you at home!

    We are non-smokers and we don't have any pets.

    We are both working online at home, so we will often be around. We are running a travel website, and I'm also a French & English teacher, so I can definitely help you to improve your language skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're into languages, you will get the chance to practice French, English or Spanish with me if you choose to.
    We also have plenty of traveling experience that we will gladly share with you. We'll have time to share with you (especially at night once the kids are sleeping), in order to talk, answer your questions, play board games and show you around during the day.

    We live not too far from the old part of the city which is also a UNESCO site.
    The best, and the reason why we chose to live in Briançon is just the surrounding nature. You have countless hiking trails close from our place. It's a 10-min walk to take the ski lift of one of the best ski resorts in France (Serre Chevalier). You can do cross-country skiing, ski touring, rock climbing, trail running and so much more here!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    ====================
    I've created a business lately and it's taking me more time than expected. We initially looked for help during the winter holidays, but we're now concerning requests throughout the year. We prefer to be more last minute (let's stay max two months in advance) than planning far ahead but you can still try and send us a message.
    ====================

    We're hoping to find someone reliable to get a bit of help around the house. I'm afraid of not being able to handle the work, the kids and all the sport I do alone during this period.

    Here's the tasks you might ask during your stay with us :

    - Languages, it's a plus if you can talk with our kids in English. The eldest one already has a good understanding of the language since my wife & I always speak together in English. Both kids can already speak French and Cantonese.

    - Cooking. Nothing fancy but we like to eat healthy food. Personally, I try to follow a whole-foods diet although I can be flexible since the kids are not always fond of all our recipes :)

    - Caring for the kids. Sometimes I'll need to go outside so it'll be great if you can care for the kids. We have plenty of board games to play with them. You can also bake a cake, set up a drawing activities and/or any entertaining ideas you can think suitable for their ages.

    - House chores, such as sometimes cleaning around.

    Depending on your profile and your skills we'll see if you can help us out in a different manner but most of the help I'll need is mentioned above. I understand it's nothing amazing compared to what some other hosts can offer but we'd really appreciate some help.

    We are looking for a single person, but if you're a couple you can still try to apply, however the odds of being accepted are lower.
    Families are welcomed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a flat near the city center of Briançon. It's close to the train station and easy to get around.
    We can provide you your own room. Although the room might be rather simple, you'll have a bed, a desk and a few other amenities. We will also provide you 3 meals a day (breakfast, lunch and dinner) everyday even the days where you're not working.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The Wi-Fi is not the best but the optic fiber should be running soon.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 885837654152

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Join me in living a self-sufficient life in the wild nature of Vosges, France
Help with the house in Saint Haon le Vieux, France