Speak English (or French!) with English teacher while helping with gardening, DIY, etc in the beautiful Loire Valley, France

  • France
  • Favourited 121 times
  • Last activity: 11 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Hi, my name is Julie and I live in a beautiful farmhouse in the Loire Valley between Angers and Saumur. I have 2 hectares of land to manage but also to enjoy; huge ornamental garden (more English style!), large organic vegetable garden, woodland, field, stream, pond, etc. I try to work with nature; I never spray chemicals, enjoy growing and eating organic food, try to encourage birds, insects, animals to join me here on my land. So it's rather wild and beautiful - but lots of work!
    I'm actually a full-time English teacher here in France so you can practice your English with me (I am British/French so vous pouvez également pratiquer votre français si vous préférez!). I've lived in Germany too so my German is pretty good.
    I'm interested in lots of things and really enjoy travelling (I try to go to India once a year where, along with a friend, I am helping on a few small-scale educational and environmental projects in a few villages in the south), meeting people, all sorts of things.
    Do come and stay and help in the garden or perhaps in the house.
    I look forward to welcoming you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about living in France, French way of life and food. (British too as I am originally English!). Learn about nature, plants, insects, sustainable living and growing.

  • Help


    General garden tasks - planting, sowing, weeding, pruning etc. Woodland management. Perhaps some DIY in the house - painting, repairing etc

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room and bathroom on the first floor of my farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My home is a wonderful place and friends, family and visitors seem to love it. I have a lot of visitors but if you're looking for a bit of peace in the French countryside, this is where you can find it. It is somewhere special.
    House is also on the 'Loire à Velo' cycling route.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 851561372142