General help in the garden and home South west coast of Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    238

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Couples only

    We have a large garden by the sea and always have lots of weeding and clearing to be done. If you like being outside and enjoying a beautiful working environment this is a perfect place to be. There is always some painting and general help around the house as well.
    Please can we ask that only couples apply on this occasion.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a lovely place, by the sea but very private with our own jetty and boat and beaches all at the bottom of the garden. Both David and I have travelled a lot and lived in different countries and I worked as a volunteer in New Zealand and Australia so I know the benefits of doing this. My parents also had volunteers when I was growing up and that was the 1970's/80's when it was less usual! We love having people from other countries and showing them around and showing them Irish life......

    You can walk to Derrynane beach and the pub and in Caherdaniel, there is Irish music every Thursday night. Most people hitch to get around as public transport is not very regular but all our previous Workaway's have managed to see a lot while they've been here. If you have a car all the better!

    We are happy to give you lunch but you can eat breakfast and dinner in your apartment (where there is a kitchen) and we'll happily provide food. We will cook some evening meals but not every night. The weekends are free and we don't cook.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for general help around the house and garden but only for a few hours a day. The work is suitable for couples as we don’t have other Workaways and it is also physically demanding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room with a kitchen and ensuite bathroom in a separate building from us. Lovely view and very comfortable. We can't take families. We prefer couples or 2 friends travelling together(there is only one double bed but we can provide a blow up bed as well).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of things to do locally although it is challenging without a car. The beach is nearby , horse riding is available walking and exploring.......There are buses to Killarney (from Waterville) where there is a train station to Dublin, Cork etc.

    We are non smokers but love food, eating well is v important. I am a vegetarian.

    We are tidy and like to be busy but also enjoy walking our dog and enjoying where we live. The best months to come are between April to October. We have no work in the winter months.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 814292594767