Kootenay Lake, southern British Columbia. General Gardening Help, Stimulating Conversation...

Country

Canada

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Golden Retriever and cat with a live-in man and woman who are retired, but feed and play with us. We like hiking, stimulating conversation, and eclectic music. We have a gorgeous property on Kootenay Lake that needs extra TLC in the spring. Veggie gardening, firewood preparation and general maintenance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My wife and I have traveled through Europe and Asia. We enjoy exploring other cultures and like to share ours. We have been Servas hosts for 15 years. We live about 40 minutes from Nelson BC. A gorgeous mountain town of 10,000 people with lots of arts and outdoor activities.

    Our local village is known for its strong environmental attitude. I am on the board of Harrop-Procter Community Forest. We have been practicing sustainable forestry, for 20 years. Visitors come from across Canada to learn from our model.

    How travelers benefit from a cultural exchange depends on many things. If they have goals in mind, such as to speak better English, or to learn about growing food. If the travelers goal is to learn to soften arbitrary borders, to expand their heart, to be more inclusive of others; well that is a life-long task. Perhaps we could be each other's catalyst.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with some or all of the following: gardening , moving our compost pile, planting our organic vegetable garden, stacking firewood for next winter,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a 5 minute walk from Kootenay Lake. Our guest room has a queen bed and private bathroom on the lower floor with a very large window and view of the garden; we sleep on upper floor. Quiet rural area. One of us is a great cook, the other is very adept at chopping wood and carrying water.
    (We would of course provide 3 meals per day)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great hiking, biking, fishing, and mountains. We have 2 mountain bikes and a canoe. The small village of Procter is 1.5 km from our house. Nelson is about 45 minutes away. Bus service is available; and we drive to Nelson about 2x/week, for groceries, library, etc. Most of neighbours are eco-conscious in various ways.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 618668584553