Enjoy country living in Canterbury, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/05/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small rural property on the Canterbury plains about half way between Christchurch and the mountains. We have a large house and gardens and the usual range of animals. We would love to host someone who is happy to help with the garden and general maintenance. I am semi-retired and work from home while my wife Robin commutes to Christchurch most days. It is a very relaxing and informal lifestyle in a beautiful setting and we have enjoyed our experience with other hosting programs in the past.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Robin is originally from Canada and we have both traveled extensively and enjoy the interaction with visitors from overseas. We enjoy having others in our large house and learning about the other countries and cultures. I have an excellent knowledge of NZ agriculture and food industries and my wife is currently working in the Maori culture and business environment.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    we are looking for someone who has some gardening experience trade skills and/or enjoys outdoor work. We have a large garden and I would like to find someone who can assist me in the larger projects around property and keep up the maintenance of buildings

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Maori: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    large room and access to separate bathroom in a spacious house

    We have a large vegetable garden and enjoy food from around the world. We prepare a wide range of food and make some of our own bread, cheese, preserves and beer. We are interested in sharing food interests and experiences with any visitors

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    would suit someone with their own transport but would also work in with the commute to the city

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 617545969199