Volunteer in Gavaudun.

Country

France

Favourited 201 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/12/2017

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi
    We are a family of 5 British people living in France my daughter is 18 my 2 sons are 14 and 16 I am 50 going on 25 and my husband is 55. We live in a beautiful rural part of France with one of the oldest castles in the region . We have horses cats a dog . We are trying to restore a barn from 1650 which we need help with we have plenty of land and we are often outside chopping trees down for firewood as well as replanting. We have plums and figs which you can pick and eat straight from the tree no chemicals involved. We have bikes, but they all need attention if you want to go for a bike ride and people swim in the local lake we also have a swimming pool that you are welcome to use
    We would be happy to offer accommodation and food to either a couple or single volunteers who would be happy to get their hands dirty working alongside me or my husband on any one of our projects. We get involved in what is going on around us in the village and they are always happy to meet other people.
    It does get cold here later in the year but the caravan is very warm, better than the house.
    There is full free internet access. No smoking in the house or caravan but you are free to smoke outside

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We really need someone that is able to do some painting DIY and tidying up of land you would need to be relatively fit and strong male or female I manage and I am a 9 stone female. If you want to ride a horse ( as long as you can ride)or walk the dog you would be more than welcome. The area is full of history and there is loads to see here. Really we just need general help with tidying up the property and barn. As well as the continual battle with the grounds. Use of a chainsaw or strimmer often needed

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French German some Spanish and my daughter is learning Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer either a room in the house with us or a modern 5 berth caravan. We would like to think that whilst you are here you become part of the family and eat with us. If you wanted to cook at any time that would not be a problem and help with the washing up is always appreciated
    You would have to use the family bathroom as the caravan loo does not work, the bathroom is easy to get to and only used by the adults

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please feel free to ask any questions

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day or one day on and one day off or as it suits you once discussed

This is the barn almost finished in use for a party
our pond with loads of frogs
one of the fields in happy use
This is our village
This is the barn with work in progress
















Host ref number: 616545317516