Looking to live sustainably. Do you have experience in permaculture and/or organic gardening?

Country

United States

Favourited 148 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small island near Sitka in Alaska. We are constantly reminded of how closely related to nature we are and how intimately engaged we are here on this lovely little family-owned island.

    We have about 3 acres in the dense temperate rain forest. Hoping to clean up the property in preparation for more usable space. There will also be projects building a green house, doing landscape design, etc. I am looking for specific help from people who have a background in permaculture and organic gardening in general. I would really like input.

    At this point in time, the work would be clearing the brush and burning it, tending the garden beds and feeding the dog and chickens. This coming summer, we are planning to build an outdoor kitchen space and greenhouse!

    We are open to suggestions and more than anything would love to be accompanied by people who are interested in living an intentional, wonder-filled life. We enjoy harvesting food, snorkeling, hiking, free diving for my dinner and eating off mother nature’s plate.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I commute by small boat to town, you could learn about boats. I harvest seaweed, berries, edible local plants and seafood, you could learn about that! I have a wood stove as a heat source, I buck and chop my own firewood or town home loose logs, more things to learn. I have a guitar, but don’t play, you could learn that :)

  • Help

    Help

    I think it’s best for peoples skills to be utilized, so after reading my description above, please tell me how you’d like to get engaged!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I currently have three spare bedrooms. Two with double size beds and one with a twin. First come, first serve.

    As far as food goes, I’m happy to provide the staples for breakfast and dinner, but collaboratively supplying and cooking a meal is enjoyable or to me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 616539424243