General help needed on my rural, off-grid property in Murtas, Alpujarras, Granada, Andalusia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 294 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Helpers

    My last place of residence was UK but originally came from Zambia, being bought up in Zimbabwe and also lived in South Africa for many years. Then it was off to London for 14 years!
    I have come to Spain to enjoy sunshine once again and enjoy a rural setting with nature at my door step. The property I have purchased is relatively small and has a few citrus trees, a number of olive, almond & fig trees and grape vines. I have recently planted some stoned fruit, apple and pear trees. Before I moved in the property was vacant and neglected and very overgrown. The property is situated in a valley with a small stream (it was a mill) and a natural spring. There is also a well and the property receives 'agricultural' water once a week. There is also a 'balsa' (water storage) which can double up as a swimming pool.
    My aim is to tidy the place, incorporate some areas for bird watching, care for the trees, introduce more indigenous trees and possibly erect a couple of cottages so that I can share this lovely, peaceful place.
    I am generally strong and can do a lot myself but I do have a 'health' issue that has weakened my left side and I have days where I am tired, hence the reason I require additional help. A tractor accident on the property has also been a set back and am taken a very long time to fully recover!
    I do not speak Spanish (at the moment) ... only English. I have had so many different experiences in Africa and have many stories to share.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is not all about work, it is about putting together ideas, creating plans and generally enjoying the beauty and tranquility . There will be no outright instructions but guidance and creating together.
    The area has a lot of history and the valley is overlooked by a fort. This actual property also has a lot of history (which I still have to discover), so historians will certainly like it and will be able to do research from this peaceful setting. It is a rural setting but days out to the beach (1.5 hours away) or skiing (seasonal) and hiking in the Sierra Nevada. There are plenty of hiking and walking trails in the area. Granada is a 2 hour drive or 4 hour bus ride.
    Ideal for keen bird watchers as there are a number of exciting species to see here.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to enjoy the company of helpers who like a rural setting and will appreciate seeing the property come to life, encouraging nature whether insects, or birds or indigenous plants.

    Work to be done:

    Maintain the terraces by cutting the down the grass and weeds, removing any bramble and unwanted fig tree growth
    Improve and maintain the access road
    Weeding around fruit trees around the property including clearing around the olive trees is an on-going job
    A number of ancient stone walls are collapsing so repairing and rebuilding is necessary
    Developing new garden areas around the house and existing cottage would be wonderful too

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Usually a bedroom in the house is offered (only shared with travelling a companion or partner).
    There is a cottage that can sleep 3-4 people or couples, if preferred but it is a little rustic but quirky!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have 8 cats, so if you are allergic ... this is not the place for you.

    Dobbi is a very big dog but a gentle giant.
    Sofi is a medium size dog who recently joined the family. I found her on a road suffering with a broken jaw after being hit by a car.

    The property is remote and the closest town has no bar or shop! There are other towns with facilities 6km away.
    Normally I go shopping once a week and take helpers with me so they can explore the town.

    I recommend that helpers have their own insurance whilst travelling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 615138296973