Dairy and beef farm overlooking the Atlantic in a small village called Goleen, south westerly Ireland, near Mizen Head Co. Cork

Country

Ireland

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is John.

    I am 46 years of age and I live on my own in a beautiful farm in a small village called Goleen, in the most south westerly point in Ireland, near Mizen Head Co. Cork.

    I live in a farm that overlooks the Atlantic, where I look after my 200 head of cattle on 150 acres of land. We farm both Dairy and Beef, and also some contract work, which is silage and hay production throughout Spring Summer and Autumn. Our village is very sociable with a great sense of community and neighbourliness but what is truly special is the location that we live in.

    In nearby Barleycove we are blessed with 2 fine surfing beaches, that are buzzing during the Summer. On another beach, Cockle Strand, it's a haven for windsurfing and paddle boarding. Birdwatchers are common in autumn, and all visitors are treated to wildlife such as dolphins porpoises seals, and birdshows from the visiting gannets. Great hiking abound, we can recommend going to nearby Brow Head, for scenery, Marconi's Transmission Tower, and the set of the latest Star Wars Movie.

    The reason I would like to host workaways is I am a sociable person, but I have interesting work that I feel that visitors would enjoy learning and participating in, such as feeding bedding out calves and occasional calving. The are further opportunities for interested workaways to experience and learn milking if experience allows. The accommodation is in my house, which is 15 minutes walk from Goleen Village. I am a sports enthusiast playing soccer and GAA (Gaelic Athletic Association - Gaelic Football) and would be delighted to introduce any visiting workaways to our indigenous sport. It's also a great way of meeting more of our local community.

    I would welcome single or pairs of workaways, and can host them in my farm where you will have your own bedrooms. As mentioned it's mostly farmwork, but am open to playing with interested workaways own strengths.

    I hope to hear from you soon,

    John

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being in the most South Westerly in Ireland , it's both picturesque and historic. An interesting spot for history, in neighbouring Crookhaven Marconi sent his first trans-Atlantic radio signal from Brow Head, and the latest Star Wars film was shot there also. Archaeology buffs will be delighted with the prolific pre-historic monuments on our doorstep.

    If workaways are interested they can participate in cards in Goleen on Friday nights which is great craic.

    I have a keen interest in bird and nature watching as have my local friends and there are every day opportunities for bird and mammal watching in the locality. We hope to offer a very warm insight in our way of life and become life-long friends

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking at all types of cattle related work. As outlined, feeding, bedding out calves and occasional calving. Day-to-day would be moving cattle, but there will be a lot of hay cutting and silage making during the warmer months. I am not closed to workaways with maintenance skills but an interest in cattle and agriculture is crucial. Ability to drive a tractor is very useful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in an old farm house, with four bedrooms I will give 2 up for visiting woraways. Workaways will have evening meals provided and provisions for breakfast and lunch!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Enjoy Kayaking, Cycling, Hiking, Surfing paddleboarding and fishing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 614923177848