Our farm needs you! Come and help with animals, building in Brittany, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We’re Mo and Stuart and we’re looking for volunteers to help us on our small farm with maintenance, building work and animal care.
    You’ll need to be really comfortable with animals as we have two dogs and three cats who are part of the family and we also have a small alpaca herd.
    English is our first language – I’m Scottish and Stuart is English – and I speak good French.
    We do have visitors to the farm to meet the alpacas and I also work with the fibre from the alpacas, transforming it by spinning and felting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're always interesting in meeting new people and would enjoy sharing what we've discovered here with you.

    We’ve lived in this lovely part of France for many years, and we have a view of life here that's a bit different.

    We enjoy cooking and trying new food experiences.

    I’m also a teacher of English as a second language, so if you want to improve your English, we're happy to give you a full English-language immersion experience .

  • Help

    Help

    Anything from helping with our animals to pointing the walls of old stone buildings!

    There is always something to be done, whether it’s maintaining grassland and fencing, working on building projects or feeding and looking after the animals.

    Between us we have a range of skills we're happy to share, so enthusiastic and willing helping hands are what we need. The work isn’t hard, but it is physical.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You’ll have your own comfortable bedroom and bathroom which we'd ask you to keep clean and tidy yourself.
    And of course, we will make sure you’re well-fed! We have a varied diet but we’re not vegetarian and can't cater for restricted diets.
    If you’d like to share your own cooking skills and food culture with us, that would be great.
    The farm is a non-smoking site for health and safety reasons and we can’t accommodate children or pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the edge of a village in central Brittany. This is a peaceful place with a small wood and a stream running through the land. There are lots of birds here and it’s a rare day that has no birdsong, even in winter.
    The weather here is generally mild in winter with more rain than snow. Summer is usually very pleasantly warm.
    Our village has a bar, a bakery, a small grocery store, a creperie and a hotel/restaurant, all within a few minutes’ walk.
    Our nearest town is about four kilometres away, with a cinema, swimming pool and equestrian centre, as well as a good range of shops.
    TGV trains run from Rennes and Saint Brieuc to Paris and beyond and there are good bus links between towns in Brittany, so it’s pretty easy to get around.
    Outdoors, there's a lot to do in the area, particularly cycling and walking – bike trails and walking routes are well-represented and we also have a bike you could borrow.
    There are water activities at the Lac de Guerlédan, about 20 minutes’ drive from here.
    The beautiful north Breton coast is about 30 minutes away by road, with its beaches and walking trails.
    Mobile phone coverage is variable, but you can use our WiFi while you're here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 25 hours in a week

Host ref number: 614346475741

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more