Help us with some building and garden projects in and around our home in the Aveyron France



Favourited 926 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    We hope you will understand that dependent on where in France you come from, due to Covid 19 and our age (around 80) and suggested quarantine restrictions, then unless you can prove to be negative, we would restrict our contact with you for the first few days.

    This would mean that we would not allow you in the main house, you would have to live and sleep in a very comfortable three roomed apartment and we would either supply you with food that you can cook yourself or we will provide you with cooked meals that you will eat on your own

    Whilst we realise this is inconvenient, it is only for a short time because once we are sure that everything is Covid 19 OK we can enjoy a joint social life together.

    As well as gardening and general building tasks we have a number of other projects that may interest you

    We are renovating the old farmhouse and are at the stage where we need to do the plumbing, run electrics, put up plasterboard, insulation, lay tiles etc. Therefore, anyone with building experience or a wish to learn would be very welcome. Experience is a bonus but not essential.

    Another project is the renovation of a Ford Cortina based kit car. All the bodywork has been completed but there is still the running gear, cab and dashboard to do so anyone with mechanical skills would be extremely useful.

    We are also particularly interested in anyone with an interest in landscaping about one acre of garden.

    Another winter project is the pollarding and pruning of a number of trees

    Twenty seven years ago we bought a nearly derelict farmhouse and barn in about two acres of land 10 kilometres east of Villefranche de Rouergue in the Aveyron Department, France.

    The house is in a rural location but not isolated, in a small hamlet. We are just on the edge of the Massif Centrale at a height of 554 metres above sea level. The surrounding area is hilly and provides a peaceful and relaxing area with wonderful views.

    We are both British and retired Richard was an officer in the fire service and Patricia was a tax adviser. We do have wide range of friends both French and British. Whilst together we have very good knowledge and experience of building and DIY skills and also all the tools and necessary equipment we are no longer as energetic as we once used to be, so extra help is always a welcome relief.

    We have lived in France long enough to appreciate what we call proper food. We strive to vary the diet so that no main meal is repeated for at least 14 days (unless specially requested) It may be French, it may be British, or, it may be a mixture of French and British and on occasions you will taste the local delicacies.

    We will provide the breakfast food which you will normally have on your own at a time to suit yourself. Lunch will be around 1300 hours which we will all eat together and the main meal will be around 1900 hours which again we will all eat together. We are both sociable people and actively encourage conversation and cultural exchange especially at meal times as this this is as equally important to the meal as the food. However, vegetarian diets will cause us problems as we believe that we would not be able to provide a suitable satisfactory type of diet

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We really encourage workaways to become part of the household during their time with us.

    They can learn how to help with poultry, gardening and building tasks.

    Hopefully they will discover a way of life that has changed very little over the last fifty years

    For those with an “open mind” the cultural exchange can give them an opinion on life from a completely different point of view.

    Over the years we have travelled a lot and gained experience of other cultures and we share our knowledge with our workaways

    We try to make sure that our workaways are properly looked after and when the weather is suitable we will take them sightseeing to places of local interest.

    We believe our lifestyle provides an ideal escape from a hectic working or studying or city lifestyle and it gives the impression of what life was like in the UK 50 years ago.

  • Help


    We have so many projects to do that that the list is endless. It ranges from cutting the grass and hedges to laying floor tiles and hanging doors and if someone with building skills comes to visit us we will find the appropriate task for them.

    We have a large garden and a vegetable plot and we keep ducks and pheasants. This means that when the weather is suitable there are always some outside tasks to do

    In the winter there is always firewood that needs cutting and stacking

    At one time we ran a business in France and we still own the shop and living accommodation in a nearby town. When time and inclination allow, we hope to finish converting the living accommodation into four separate apartments

    At the right time of the year help could be needed in preserving the fruits of the garden

    Help is always useful at any time of the year, The tasks we will give to you will depend upon your capabilities and experience

    What we really need is a general helping hand

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own private double bedroom and bathroom which also has a door direct to the garden and open air

    Also available is a completely self -contained 1/2 bedroomed apartment

    Internet access via Wifi

    We provide bedlinen and towels.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Aveyron is one of the nicest departments in France and the locals are very friendly.

    Away from the main roads the area is very quiet. The whole area is scenic and full of quaint villages, in fact there are more of the “most beautiful villages in France” in the Aveyron than any other Department in France

    The terrain is very hilly with steep hills and deep valleys. Unfortunately, there is very little night life. It is ideal walking country and, if you can cycle up steep hills, then cycling is an ideal way to travel.

    And we do have two ladies and two men’s bicycles that you can use whilst you are here

    We are very flexible with the hours worked. Normally you can work at a time that suits you, but, we do ask that you work 25 hours per week

    Volunteers are welcome at any time of the year. We cannot say what the weather will be like but one thing we can promise you is a varied diet of good honest tasty food together with a local wine

    We do receive British satellite television and this will be available to volunteers

    This is primarily an English speaking environment, although Patricia can speak French fluently but we do not use it in normal daily conversation

    As we are both non-smokers we do not allow smoking in the house

    The nearest town is the bastide town of Villefranche-de-Rouergue and for French gastronomy and local fare, the market on a Thursday is not to be missed.

    Nearby are the medieval villages of Belcastel and Najac. Further away is Gaillac (a wine centre), Albi (famous for its Toulouse Lautrec museum and enormous cathedral). Cordes sur Ciel

    Getting here. Toulouse airport is our nearest international airport, there is a shuttle bus service from there to Toulouse railway station, from there it is a less than a two hour rail journey to our nearest railway station which is Villefranche de Rouergue (where we will pick you up, if required).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week, 2 days off

Our house, a converted stone barn.
View from our garden east to the medieval village La Bastide-l'Évêque.
Arial view of our property
The closest medieval village to us, the beautiful Villefranche-de-Rouergue

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 261524515356