Help on my farm in South Bohemia less than 2 hours from Prague. Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

updated  

Favourited 252 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    53  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    346

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a lovely old farm on top of a hill, looking out across the valley at a ruined castle on the one side and fine views of the town of Tabor in the distance on the other. I grow some fruit and some nuts. Most of the fields are kept as meadow for the grass. I do not have any animals, farm animals that is. Just the dogs. It is essential that you are dog lovers, they are lovely and totally non-aggressive, indeed I would describe them as very huggable.

    I will need help with general maintenance, grass cutting, fence repairs, planting and harvesting vegetables from the vegetable patch, pruning and planting fruit trees and bushes, then in the Autumn collecting the windfall apples and walnuts in the orchards. And occasionally chasing the dogs around the village if and when they get out. Following serious damage to my back that restricts my movement somewhat there is also potential for a fair bit of dog walking through the beautiful South Bohemia countryside. We are surrounded by fields and forest.

    There is always much to do, the farmhouse is over 100 years old and in need of renovation and renewal and while that is happening, the grass just won't stop growing. Carpenters, bricklayers people with proven building skills are most welcome. People who can work a lawn mower without breaking it are also very welcome.

    To supplement my income and pay for the loss making farm, I restore old English vehicles, an interest in mechanics or at least a will to learn, would be very useful I also have to drive the tour bus for the Tourist Information Office in Bechyne. So this all takes me away from keeping the farm in top condition. And doubles up the need for dog carers.

    Basically I don't have the time, or indeed the energy to do everything myself I need help both in the field, the garden and the house.

    Able bodied and able to work without direction are essential because you will be left for a couple of days at a time to look after the farm, vegetable patch and dogs. A driving licence is more or less essential! Oh and if you are the type who arranges to come and then changes their mind, or change your dates more than once, please do not bother to apply, all that does is ruin the entire years planning, not just for me but for all the volunteers that I will have turned away because the space is reserved for you.

    It is essential that you love dogs!

    And did I mention the dogs?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is my firm belief that you get out of life what you put into it. Some of my past volunteers have contributed little and benefited little. Others have left me with vastly more knowledge. And I am delighted to say that of the well over 100 volunteers I have had, the vast majority are still in touch and each year a goodly proportion of them come back, if only for a weekend, dinner and a hug. I am afraid you need to ask them what they got out of it, I am far too modest to blow my own trumpet.

  • Help

    Help

    Feeding and walking the dogs. Help in the garden and Orchard. And a general helping hand when required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a campervan out in the back field and two old vans fitted with a comfortable double beds.

    This country is very bad for vegetarians and to be honest, I can't cope with any special dietary needs. The nearest shop is about 3 km away, the freezer tends to get full of pork and chicken. Bacon is always around. But then, I like bacon. As for the beer issue. I used to ask for a few more hours per day and give free beer, but Workaways policy is that it is only possible to ask for 5 hours, so you have to buy your beer.

    Your travel plans should be to Tabor, South Bohemia and provided you arrive between 10.00 and 18.00 I will come and collect you from the station.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Within walking range is the ruined castle of Choustnik, we are just over 10Km form the regional town of Tabor which is a fascinating old historical town with pretty decent shopping and about a half hour drive from Jindrichuv Hradec which was formerly the second city of the Czech Kingdom. From Tabor it is very easy to get to Prague or to Ceske Budejovice and Cesky Krumlov. For those with a driving licence who can prove to me that they are capable of driving carefully and safely I usually make my car available. But it is not always available. Did I mention dogs?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Daisy doing a surprisingly good impersonation of a vegetable.
Jackson, panting after playing football to his own interpretation of the rules.
These are my babies. If you don't adore dogs. Don't apply.
Workawayer Miyoko using her small fingers on the carburettor bolts.
The very lovely Ellie who has volunteered here twice. And is always welcome.
The Farm
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)






































Host ref number: 612413328359